DEV Community

jess unrein
jess unrein

Posted on

Where do you find conference CFPs?

I did quite a bit of conference and meetup speaking in 2016 and 2017, but decided to take 2018 off of speaking due to some burnout and health concerns. But now I'm back! But the landscape seems to be totally different from the last time I was CFP hunting.

Lanyrd is permanently down, the Technically Speaking newsletter is now defunct, and Papercall.io continues to be an unhelpful mess.

For those of you who do conference speaking, which channels do you keep an eye on for finding new CFPs?

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel

Also taking a non-local speaking break, but I want to get back into it soon.

this newsletter is awesome. Great, curated CFPs each week.

this twitter account also has a ton!

Collapse
 
shiling profile image
Shi Ling

List of conferences with CPF deadlines for front-end developers

For front-end and web dev conferences, here's a list maintained by Ben Ilegbodu, who's lead front end engineer at Eventbrite and does a fair bit of really good talks on React and front end stuff.

What I do is to watch the repo for pull requests to get updates on new CPFs.

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

My absolute best option for this kind of thing has to be papercall.io. I found this site through an event that was running their CFP with it and later on I started seeing several others that were going along the same path. Needless to say, I just made an account there and have been using it ever since.

Collapse
 
thejessleigh profile image
jess unrein

I’m aware of papercall but think it’s kind of a mess. Searching and filtering is pretty blunt, they make it very difficult to tell whether or not conferences comp travel expenses for speakers, and a lot of the CFPs on that site are for ongoing local meet ups rather than conferences.

Papercall is certainly better than nothing, but it’s honestly not as good as some of the resources that existed a couple years ago, so I guess I’m spoiled.

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Well, I guess I don't have that many opinions about the site itself because I normally find the CFPs in other sites and then get directed to the papercall site haha. I think I never used the site directly. Sorry I can't be of much help here

Collapse
 
karllhughes profile image
Karl L. Hughes

I run a free newsletter for tech conference speakers. It's simply a list of all of the CFPs closing that week.

There's also a Twitter and RSS feed if you prefer that 😃

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

What is a CFP ?

Collapse
 
thejessleigh profile image
jess unrein

A call for proposal. It’s the form you fill out when you’re applying to a conference. Your response is competitively evaluated against other applicants.

Collapse
 
leob profile image
leob

Thanks! Not familiar at all with the world of conferences. Do most conferences pay you for speaking? Wondering if it's something that generates income for you.

Thread Thread
 
thejessleigh profile image
jess unrein • Edited

At my level speaking is really more of a way to get comped conferences and professional development. I’m sure people who keynote regularly can make some money off of it, but for me any payment beyond a comped ticket and travel expenses is usually fairly modest.

However, there are conferences like Grace Hopper that don’t comp anything and make their speakers buy a ticket. I am fundamentally opposed to that and think you should never speak at a conference that does that. My general rule is I don’t pay for travel or lodging to speak at any conference that charges its attendees. I will, however, pay for travel and such to speak at a conference that’s free to attendees, like PyOhio.

Thread Thread
 
leob profile image
leob

Totally agree! They should at least allow you free entrance. Having you speak at their conference AND pay a ticket is pretty ridiculous, it means they're profiting two times from you. But that goes to show that for some companies or people profit not ethics is the only thing that counts.

Thread Thread
 
thejessleigh profile image
jess unrein

It’s the same old refrain - “we’re giving you exposure!” 🙃

Thread Thread
 
leob profile image
leob

Yeah right ... nice try :-)

Collapse
 
jclapadula profile image
Juan Cruz Lapadula Plá

Hi Jess,
we recently launched speakerhouse.io, a platform that helps tech speakers connect with events, and one thing that we have is a CFP listing that (we hope) is useful.
Come take a look and if you have any feedback, just let us know in twitter @speakerhouseio 😃

Collapse
 
wuz profile image
Conlin Durbin

I'm feeling this pretty heavily lately. I feel like there is a void in terms of filtering to conferences I would be interested in. Excited to see what people have to say!

Collapse
 
rhnonose profile image
Rodrigo Nonose

There's some notable events on eventil.com/, but it kinda depends on the type of conferences.

Collapse
 
thejessleigh profile image
jess unrein

This is a great resource that I wasn't aware of before. Thank you!

I'm generally interested in Python, data, and infrastructure. Thanks again!