DEV Community

TheOnlyBeardedBeast
TheOnlyBeardedBeast

Posted on

Suggest me a snippet manager

I am looking for a snippet manager which could sync to a github repository, I googled but didn't find any which could handle that.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
alexanderjanke profile image
Alex Janke

If you're using Vs Code you can create snippets on a project basis.

File > Preferences > User Snippets and in the dropdown choose "New Snippets file for yourProjectName"
Snippet dropdown

This will create a .vscode folder in your project which you can commit to your repo.

Collapse
 
theonlybeardedbeast profile image
TheOnlyBeardedBeast

Thank you, I know about this feature, I meant to have something like a knowledge database of different snippets, which can be categoried or tagged, but it could use a git repository as a database to have it sync between multiple pcs

Collapse
 
alexanderjanke profile image
Alex Janke

Ahh I got you now. This actually sounds like a fun side project.. Do you mean completely editor independent so you can access it whenever on your pc or just within your editor?

Thread Thread
 
theonlybeardedbeast profile image
TheOnlyBeardedBeast

As a completely independent software, yeah I thought the same but I actually have a sideproject for now ☹️ electron with node-git would be a simple choice for it, but I wonder if no one implement something similar, there are a plenty of snippet software I looked into but none of them supported git as a storage.

Collapse
 
sergix profile image
Peyton McGinnis

massCode is pretty cool.

Collapse
 
theonlybeardedbeast profile image
TheOnlyBeardedBeast

I will take a look, thanks