DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v125

owl saying hi

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (171)

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh • Edited

Hi everyone

My passion for blogging and sharing knowledge with the broader community guided me here.

I heard a lot about Dev.to and was welcomed so warmly here.

Fun fact, as a developer I often use the phrase "It works on my machine" :D :D

Collapse
 
vcpablo profile image
Pablo Veiga

I use that sentence a lot...
Another that is quite common is "It is ready. I just need to test!"
🤣

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh

Indeed..... 🤣

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus • Edited

Hello everyone. I've been here for a while -- been programming for 30 years. Along the way I've become so annoyed with the hundreds of passwords I've had to keep track of that I created a FOSS app which runs on all platforms. It allows you to 1. never memorize a pwd again. 2. Never type a pwd again 3. Never make up a pwd again. You can draw your password. I wrote it up here on Dev.to. I hope you'll check it out and comment. Oh, and you can try it in your browser with nothing to install.

Collapse
 
bnsmar profile image
bnsmar

Me parece genial tu contribucion, las conteaseñas son un tremendo problema!!
Soy de la generacion del time sharing (76), cuando la computacion rra un hermoso proyecto, graduada en matematicas puras, pero con orientacion a la estadistica.

Collapse
 
raddevus profile image
raddevus

You said, "To write about something is to understand it on a deeper level."
I agree 100%. It really helps to write things out to solidify your knowledge. 👍🏽
For me, it helps me know what I know...and discover what I don't actually quite know. 🤓

Collapse
 
crypt0r3n3g4d3 profile image
Crypt0R3n3g4d3

Agreed!!!!

Collapse
 
crypt0r3n3g4d3 profile image
Crypt0R3n3g4d3

Agreed

Collapse
 
bhumikhokhani profile image
Bhumi Khokhani

Actually, it's such a good way to add some extra value to ourself and also share it with others.

Collapse
 
imriven profile image
Christina Harris • Edited

Hi There! My name is Christina and a question brought me here. I thought I would just end up on stack-overflow again but my question brought me here to some very creative and interesting answers. Honestly, it was an, "explain like I'm 5", question. Don't judge! I'm happy to be a part of such a great community of developers and I'm looking forward to learning and teaching!

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Those last 2 things you mentioned are very important!
Welcome

Collapse
 
elidrissidev profile image
Mohamed ELIDRISSI

Hello hackers,

I'm Mohamed from Morocco! After a couple of years as a typical developer, I decided to step it up and learn the fundamentals and become a self-taught fullstack engineer, and in the process try to share what I'm learning. Last week I deployed my own personal blog (link in my profile) where I wrote my first post, I also republished it here. Feel free to give it a read and if you have any feedback you're welcome!

Collapse
 
adegboyega95 profile image
Adegboyega95

Hi

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Just wanted to say welcome to everyone new and not-so-new to DEV. 👋

Hope y'all enjoy it here!

If you're wondering how to get started with posting a post, then consider checking out this article here.

If you're wondering anything else, don't hesitate to reach out and ask. 😀

Collapse
 
greypse profile image
Emma Grey

thanks! This is very helpful!

Collapse
 
nerdeye profile image
nerdeye

Hi Everyone!

I'm Henry from North Carolina. I'm excited to join this community as a newbie in web dev. I hope to journal my daily learning to be able to interact with all of you!

Fun fact: I operate a food truck as my main job so this is all a completely different ball park!

Collapse
 
ddeklerk28 profile image
Dirk de Klerk

That is awesome! I would love to have a food truck some day! It is a culture that has yet to catch on in South Africa

Collapse
 
nerdeye profile image
nerdeye

I hope you do one day! It is a lot of work but also a very fun and gratifying job!

Collapse
 
chinmayagrawal775 profile image
Chinmay Agrawal

Hello everyone,

I like always reading but now i also want to write .
I like to be the part of developer communities and always want to give back to the community.
so i am here to write & share my knowledge with world.

Collapse
 
devfemibadmus profile image
Dev Femi Badmus

Welcome can we be together??

Collapse
 
chinmayagrawal775 profile image
Chinmay Agrawal

ya sure!

Collapse
 
iamjeeban profile image
Jeeban Mishra

Hloo Everyone,
I am Jeevan From Odisha. I am happy to be here as always looking for new stuff to learn and willing to humbly share with the community. I am a Java developer .My passion for coding is transmitted into every project I undertake.

Collapse
 
revdavethompson profile image
Rev. Dave Thompson

I'm a quasi-hobbiest web app dev...

Actually, professionally I'm a CIVIL HUMAN Servant working to build human peace and common ground. Over the last twenty years, I've worked in conflict resolution within religious, social and political contexts. I developed my CIVIL HUMAN model from out of that experience and use it to teach people and orgs how to build peace and common ground. (Lately, I've been looking at how to apply this to AI.)

Though I began as a minister, during all this time I have continued to moonlight as a Web App Dev, working with startups in Seattle, and then in Starbucks with their Global Business Services Systems (helping to develop their global stores' Inventory Management System, pushed via the browser.)

My programing started as a fun hobby, back when I was youngster with my TRS-80 (Yeah, baby. Yeah!), but it later ended up becoming a nice way to pay the bills while I working on my true love (revdavethompson.com).

Thank you all for being a part of this community!! -Dave

Collapse
 
eziagor_chee profile image
Chiagozie Eziagor

Hello

Collapse
 
robertalv profile image
Rob Alv

Hey dev.to,

I'm a Texas based always learning developer. Love to use React & Node, currently working on a non-profit project for mom and pop auto maintenance app - Commercial apps are too expensive!

Love to read and learn more!

Cant wait to see what I pick up from this Platform :)

Collapse
 
devfemibadmus profile image
Dev Femi Badmus

Surely pick allot 🥰😍😘

Collapse
 
harshithap2000 profile image
Harshitha P

Hello! I'm Harshitha P, an undergrad student pursuing CSE. I want to get to the depth of this field and learn more than what's on the surface. I have realized fixing problems on the surface is not enough in the IT field. So I want to step up my game and deliver my best. And I find this platform helpful since it is composed of various yet like-minded people. I would love to be mentored. I know that I have a lot to deliver since I have been battling since my childhood from a disease and quite beat it. So please feel free to connect and help me find ways to improve my skills. Thank you!

Collapse
 
mustvlad profile image
Vlad Mustiață

Hello! Nice to meet y'all. Really glad I found this platform. :)

I'm interested to know how can I help you and be of service to this community. I have lots of knowledge on building startups and advanced & complex tech products.

Collapse
 
greypse profile image
Emma Grey

Hey there!
I'm Emma, and development is pretty new to me! I used to be a clarinetist, and I got my bachelor of music degree in performance. Since I realized I can't make a living playing music, I put my all into learning this new skill. I think writing about what I learn will help solidify new concepts into my head and help out other newbies like me. Plus there must be other musicians out there in my situation!

Collapse
 
bradomics profile image
Brad

Hello👋

I'm Brad.

I'm a full-stack developer with about 5 years of experience. I'm here to network and learn, and also offer what knowledge I can to other developers.

You can check out my website at bradhall.io if you would like to check out some of my projects and experience.

Nice to meet you all! :')

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Great to have you here!