DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v52

classic dancing baby

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (708)

Collapse
 
monicat profile image
Monica Macomber

Hello πŸ‘‹ I came to DEV to share a post, staying because I'm impressed with the quality content and helpful people!

Fun fact: I'm currently listening to The Wheel of Time #3 and anxiously awaiting The Stormlight Archive #4 πŸ™

Collapse
 
hghazni profile image
Harry Ghazni

I've just joined today and this is like others the first post I've seen. Absolutely love the Stormlight Archive and I'm jealous you're going through the Wheel of time! Enjoy and welcome :D

Collapse
 
sandrusha profile image
Sandra P.

Welcome, Harry! I've joined today, too! :D

Thread Thread
 
elzabeels profile image
ElzabΓ© Els

Hello! I'm new now too! πŸ‘‹πŸ˜„

Thread Thread
 
sandrusha profile image
Sandra P.

This is such a great community!

Thread Thread
 
elzabeels profile image
ElzabΓ© Els

Thank you! I'm so excited! πŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
webmaster_chuks profile image
Webmaster Chuks

πŸ‘ today sounds like everyday to me. Glad to have joined you today

Collapse
 
_ray_gan profile image
Reagan Marfo

Hello..I'm new here to

Collapse
 
kurugenga profile image
kurugenga

hello!

Collapse
 
alfie703 profile image
Al Monteagudo

Hello :)

Collapse
 
yudancuks profile image
Yudana

Hello I'm new too :D

Collapse
 
godspowercuche profile image
Godspower Uche

Hi.

Collapse
 
osamadev profile image
OsamaDev

Wow good to see a fellow Brandon Sanderson fan here. I too am waiting for the Stormlight Archive #4 and the Kingkiller chronicles #3 (An equally enjoyable series by Patrick Rothfuss do checkout if you haven't already).

Collapse
 
darligolden profile image
Darligolden

Hello

Thread Thread
 
osamadev profile image
OsamaDev

Hi!

Collapse
 
myk_zi profile image
michael

Just joined and this is one of the first posts I came across. Huge WoT fan here! Can't wait for the tv series adaptation to come come out.

Collapse
 
krummb profile image
Mark

Brandon just mentioned that it launches in November of next year! Super excited.

Currently I'm finishing up The Burning White by Brent Weeks and then on to Brian McClellan's latest. Brian is a Sanderson Disciple btw.

Collapse
 
okoliechykwuka profile image
Chukypedro

Heloo

Collapse
 
danielriverolifh profile image
Daniel

Welcome Monica

Collapse
 
bbalvanera profile image
Bernardo Balvanera

I didn't know what The Wheel of Time was and now I can't wait to start reading. Welcome and thanks.

Collapse
 
vamshikrishnaanandesi profile image
vamshi anandesi

πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
lijinvenugopalan profile image
Lijin Venugopalan

πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
im_mr_shah profile image
Muhammad Shahsawar

Hello

Collapse
 
dennisozturk profile image
Dennis

Hello !

Collapse
 
ahmadabdulnasir profile image
Ahmad Abdulnasir Shu'aib

πŸ‘

Collapse
 
bizzmanw profile image
BizzmanWeb

Hello

Collapse
 
warriorofsunlight profile image
WarriorOfSunlight

The only thing keeping me back from reading WoT is the thiccness of those books. How long does it take you to finish a volume in audio form? Also, RIP James Oliver Rigney.

Collapse
 
monicat profile image
Monica Macomber

Each book is about 50 hours. Insane. I'm not sure I'd have the patience for the paperback but the audio's great for commutes and chores.

RIP

Collapse
 
josimagas profile image
JosΓ© Bernardo MagalhΓ£es

Welcome!

Collapse
 
char3823 profile image
charlotte taylor

Hi

Collapse
 
rodrigostavares profile image
Rodrigo Tavares

Welcome!

Collapse
 
webmaster_chuks profile image
Webmaster Chuks

πŸ‘

Collapse
 
najeebmukhtar profile image
Najeeb M Abdullah

Hy I came to dev to get more insight on web dev. Iam impressed with the quality of content it's really helpful

Collapse
 
vitorgcs profile image
Vitor Gil Curto da Silva

Welcome! this platform has very high-quality content, enjoy

Collapse
 
mdjibril profile image
Jibril Dauda Muhammad

Welcome to... Devtoo

Collapse
 
aalphaindia profile image
Pawan Pawar

Yes, absolutely impressed with the quality of tech content on the platform.

Collapse
 
lllomh profile image
lllomh

Hello

Collapse
 
saulhj profile image
SaulH

G'day.

Collapse
 
shahlan profile image
s.shahlan

Hy Monica im also just new here

Collapse
 
kimmm05118863 profile image
Kimmm

Hello I came to this site because this is a requirement for the cheat in ml adventure.

I wanna try it

Collapse
 
cray2015 profile image
cray2015

is it a podcast?

Collapse
 
kevinnko profile image
Kevinnko

Hi Monica πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
caninecoder profile image
CanineCoder

Never heard of Wheel of Time, but based on the responses, it is now firmly on my list! Thanks!

Collapse
 
byronjtoms profile image
Byron Toms

Started using Git and somehow came across the site looking for git commands "Essential git commands every developer should know" loved the content and started exploring the site and seems like a good community.

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Hi Byron, I'm Katie, one of the basic moderators here on DEV.
My unofficial title: DEV cheerleader 😊

I want to welcome you to the DEV community and let you know that you'll find lots of help and support here for all your coding needs.

Don't hesitate to ask questions or contribute new ideas.

Collapse
 
nightcoder profile image
nightcoder • Edited

Hello Byron! i just joined as well ! and i read the same article about essential git commands a few weeks ago as well when i discovered git! There is also the video series "git for poets" by thecodingtrain on YouTube! fun and so helpful.
youtu.be/BCQHnlnPusY
cheers and good luck to you πŸ€™πŸΎ

Collapse
 
byronjtoms profile image
Byron Toms

Cheers nightcoder, will definitely have to watch them.

Collapse
 
arist0tl3 profile image
Sean (Diddy)

Always good to know more git πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
misterfoxy profile image
Michael Scott Fox

It's been super helpful for me too!

Collapse
 
avera360it profile image
Avera360IT

Hey Byron,
I just joined as well. Like you, I come across a lot of forums and tech communities while searching for things to help me as a software engineer. This seemed like a good community and I’m happy to talk with people and learn.

Collapse
 
kurugenga profile image
kurugenga

Are you a developer mate?

Collapse
 
lautarolobo profile image
Lautaro Lobo

It is a great community :) you'll love it for sure.

Collapse
 
istavros profile image
Stavros Ioannidis

It does look like a great community. I have read great stuff here...

Collapse
 
maxbykoff profile image
Max Bykov πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡¦πŸ

Hello there!
I am just curious about what's happening here :)
Working as full stack webdev, also interesting in mobile (recently wrote first app in NativeScript play.google.com/store/apps/details...). Have some Angular experience.

Collapse
 
upen90 profile image
Upen90

Welcome

Collapse
 
legonaftik profile image
Vladimir Pavlov

Welcome! :)

Collapse
 
mnabeelp profile image
Mohammed Nabeel

Welcome!

Collapse
 
misterfoxy profile image
Michael Scott Fox

Welcome aboard!

Collapse
 
mridularora18 profile image
Mridul Arora

The app looks great βœ¨πŸ’― could use a dark theme though.

Collapse
 
ziyadaljunaidi profile image
ZiyadA-ljunaidi

your app is awesome, usually, when I interested in learning a new language I start by doing something like your application, but a simplified console version of it.
Good luck with your work :)

Collapse
 
maxbykoff profile image
Max Bykov πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡¦πŸ

Thanks a lot!

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Hi Max, you now have your own official welcome to the DEV community!

Collapse
 
maxbykoff profile image
Max Bykov πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡¦πŸ

Thanks!

Collapse
 
funksoulninja profile image
Anthony Falcon

Welcome Max πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
brunssen profile image
Vince Brunssen

Welcome!

Collapse
 
zuizihad profile image
Zihadul Islam

Welcome

Collapse
 
nagiatzi profile image
Nikos Agiatzidis

Helloo !

Collapse
 
aldomaciel profile image
Aldo Bernardes

Hello,

I'm a brazilian fullstack dev. I'm working with react, angular, java and nodejs nowadays. I like to read articles here to improve my knowledge and I'm trying to find a remote job with different cultures. I worked with Indians devs two years ago and it was fun.

Collapse
 
shanecandoit profile image
outOfBounds

I like hearing people embrace full-stack. I did not like being expected to specialize into a niche. Good luck on the search for remote work.

Collapse
 
solonaarmstrong_22 profile image
Solona

Welcome! Xapo is full of Brazilians and fully distributed (remote).

Collapse
 
aldomaciel profile image
Aldo Bernardes

Thanks, I'll take a look. ;)

Collapse
 
giraocaio profile image
Caio GirΓ£o

Nice!
Do you prefer front-end?

Collapse
 
aldomaciel profile image
Aldo Bernardes

yes, but I've always worked with both

Collapse
 
uginy profile image
Ugin

Nice to see you here. Good Luck!

Collapse
 
thebrowncoder profile image
Dameon Wilson

Hello everyone just joined the community because it offers great information about development.

I'm on my full stack web development journey as well as mobile development.

I wish for everyone success and all the best in their journey!

Collapse
 
legonaftik profile image
Vladimir Pavlov

Full-Stack Web + Mobile - sounds impressive!

Collapse
 
duanecreates profile image
Duane Chetcuti

Hello! I just joined here too. I'm on a mission to learn something new everyday and I am sure that this place will help.

Collapse
 
jacquesbegin profile image
Jacques Begin

Hello Dameon!

Great to meet a fellow web development journeyer out on the trail! I wish you great success on your path!

Collapse
 
tedgoas profile image
Ted Goas

πŸ‘‹ Hello, I'm a long-time-lurker, first-time-poster.

I'm currently a product designer @ Stack Overflow, doing UX design, front-end development, design systems, and (gasp!) HTML email development. I work remotely in New Jersey USA and love it.

I've long been a fan of the friendly vibe here and want to starting being more active. Cheers y'all ✌️

Collapse
 
aarongeorge profile image
Aaron George

Haha, I strangely enjoy EDM cuts too. It's like solving a jigsaw puzzle

Collapse
 
monicat profile image
Monica Macomber

Holy, email dev?? I've done a bit of that last couple years. You must be a very mentally tough individual haha

Collapse
 
tedgoas profile image
Ted Goas

Honestly I love it (and realize how weird that might sound πŸ˜‚)

Thread Thread
 
arist0tl3 profile image
Sean (Diddy)

What's your favorite html email trick?

Thread Thread
 
tedgoas profile image
Ted Goas

Probably getting email layouts to stack on mobile without using media queries. Or getting Outlook to do anything correctly πŸ˜‚

I'm actually about to explore interactive email for the first time.

Collapse
 
joerter profile image
John Oerter

I've been browsing Dev for a while, but finally decided to join! I'm a software developer interested in TDD, JavaScript, C# and many other things.

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Hi John, I'm Katie, one of the basic moderators here on DEV.
My unofficial title: DEV cheerleader 😊

I want to welcome you to the DEV community and let you know that you'll find lots of help and support here for all your coding needs.

Don't hesitate to ask questions or contribute new ideas.

Collapse
 
httvhutceoscop profile image
Viet NT

Hello DEV cheerleader. 😊

Collapse
 
uginy profile image
Ugin

Yeah, it' great place to learn and to be learned

Collapse
 
ken_mwaura1 profile image
Zoo Codes

Same here. Decided to take the plunge

Collapse
 
daniel13rady profile image
Daniel Brady

πŸ‘‹I found this place while looking for a comparison of using JavaScript's "dynamic import" vs. "XHR request" to load non-JS files. I didn't find one, but I did find a useful article about using "dynamic imports" for JSON files in combination with Webpack.

Anyways, seems like a good place to learn! Happy to join your city.

Collapse
 
raman_andryianau profile image
Raman CreativeIT

Hello, everyone!

I'm a full-stack JavaScript engineer with about 10 years of experience and CEO at CreativeIT, a software development house in Belarus. Here I’m responsible for technical consulting, negotiating with existing and potential clients, and managing our team.

Being an active contributor to open source, I’m proud that many of our company’s products have a lot of stars on GitHub. On dev.to, I’m going to create my own blog, share experience and stories with you, and discuss ideas.

I hope, I'll become a great part of this community!

Collapse
 
dianamaltseva8 profile image
Diana Maltseva

Welcome!)

Collapse
 
uginy profile image
Ugin

Nice to see you here bro )

Collapse
 
shimmer profile image
Brian Berns • Edited

I came here because I lose a little part of my soul every time I use LinkedIn. A developer-oriented social network is a great idea. Looking forward to interacting with people who are passionate about making good software.

Collapse
 
shanecandoit profile image
outOfBounds

Had a chuckle at the dig at LinkedIn. I am also hoping someone better displaces them. :)

Collapse
 
zakkatkk profile image
Zach Brackett

Before we get started would you like to network your soul with every ex-lover, former friend, and skeleton in your closet?

Collapse
 
warriorofsunlight profile image
WarriorOfSunlight

I've been lurking for a few months to get a handle on the community and posting quality (which is generally high, minus all the clickbait titles on how to npx CRA). I work as an engineer and am chiefly interested in frontend web technologies, building efficient and clean components, and meeting fellow devs who share my interests.

Praise the Sun.

Collapse
 
monicat profile image
Monica Macomber

Praise the Sun

Ok yeah that's worth a follow for me πŸ˜† Welcome!

Collapse
 
somedood profile image
Basti Ortiz

We found the gamer here, Cap'n. πŸ˜†

Collapse
 
misterfoxy profile image
Michael Scott Fox

Praise the Sun! \o/

Collapse
 
datahearth profile image
Antoine Langlois

Hey, what's up all!
I'm a brand new dev in the dev community. I'm here to grab some really interesting articles about pretty much everything (just curious :D). I've already read a great article about _.memoize and there we go, I'm here!
I'm mainly coding with NodeJS on server-side actually (I'm a junior dev with 1 year of exp BTW) but I would like to go further and go with C++/Go/Python on more complex things (especially AI ^ and BigData).

Hope gonna find out more interesting things here!

Collapse
 
ruthiejaneh profile image
RuthieJaneH

Hello,

I’m not an experienced dev, I am currently obtaining my AS in IST at PSU. I hope to someday find success as a front-end dev. I live in Philadelphia, work as a cashier, and find joy in simple things.

Collapse
 
alamarw profile image
Alamar

Good luck! I’m also on my own learning path, it’s intimidating seeing all these heavily credentialed devs here lol

Collapse
 
ruthiejaneh profile image
RuthieJaneH

Hi Alamar,

Thanks! πŸ™‚ Good luck to you as well! It is somewhat intimidating, but we’ll get there too at some point.

Collapse
 
arist0tl3 profile image
Sean (Diddy)

Good luck from a Penn State alum!

Collapse
 
ruthiejaneh profile image
RuthieJaneH

Hi Sean,

Thanks!

Collapse
 
kimberrleigh profile image
Kim

Hey there! Welcome! I'm excited to learn as well!

Collapse
 
ruthiejaneh profile image
RuthieJaneH

Hi Kim! Thanks 😊 It’s exciting isn’t it!

Collapse
 
eddt profile image
Edd Twilbeck

New member, tripped on this via a survey - always looking for new places to help me learn!

Collapse
 
luaplee profile image
Paul Lee

Hello! Welcome!!

Collapse
 
funksoulninja profile image
Anthony Falcon

Hello!

My name's Anthony and I've come to DEV because I'm working towards becoming a better developer as well as maybe teach a few tricks I've learned.

I love using React and React Native, composing/producing music and also reading/learning about machine learning and AI.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.