DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v88

ladybug hello

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (143)

Collapse
 
vtrpldn profile image
Vitor Paladini • Edited

Well, I've been active for the last couple of months but I never introduced myself so here it goes. 😄

Hey, everyone!

My name is Vitor and I've been close to computers since a copy of "Sesame Street: Get Set to Learn!" found its way to southeast Brazil. I started making websites with Adobe Dreamweaver 10 years ago and never really stopped.

I mean, I never stopped the website making part, I'm glad that I dropped Dreamweaver.

I'm a DEV member since May, 2019 but only became an active user last June. I'm having a great time since and I hope that I'm making this community better as much as it makes me better!

Collapse
 
bpmct profile image
Ben Potter

Welcome Vitor!

Collapse
 
jriffs profile image
Jedi of JavaScript

I shouldn't be saying welcome, cos I'm v new here myself lol, but welcome vitor

Collapse
 
vtrpldn profile image
Vitor Paladini

Thanks, Jeremiah! 😄

Collapse
 
masterbasser profile image
Justin S

Hello all, my name's Justin and I'm a total beginner to coding, but an avid learner. Maybe too avid, as I'm still having trouble figuring out what to learn first!

I know a little HTML/CSS, some python, a little JS, and just trying to find my way to the skills to land me a job as a developer. Looking forward to learning everything I can from the community, and maybe contributing a little knowledge myself one day!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Multiple TV and movie characters giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
naveen76360795 profile image
Naveen

LOLLLL:LL

Collapse
 
starkmohit profile image
StarkMohit

Hi bro try to study some already build projects and learn accordingly. I ve done this it will also work for u ...

Collapse
 
jeffchavez_dev profile image
Jeff Chavez

Hello!

Collapse
 
trustbirungi profile image
Trust Birungi

Hey, everyone!
I'm Trust. I've been fascinated with tech and computers ever since I got my first computer back in 2000.

I've been working professionally as a developer since 2013. I mostly use Java, Spring Boot and JavaScript.

I've joined Dev.To so that I can start to share my knowledge with others.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Pam from The Office saying Nice!

Collapse
 
maryamkhidir profile image
Maryam Khidir

Welcome Trust 🙋‍♀️

Collapse
 
dephraiim profile image
Ephraim Atta-Duncan

Hey everyone,
I'm Duncan, aspiring Software Engineer. Started with copy and paste but I'm learning now. I use JavaScript mainly but I know Python and Go. I want to perfect in Go, TypeScript and Rust. I like this community so much I gave up Twitter.

Collapse
 
somtee99 profile image
Somtoo Okafor

Hey guys.
My name is Somtoo. I've been enjoying coding so far, it been almost a year. Haven't met much devs like me...a reason I joined, can't believe I'm just joining a dev community now. Looking forward to meeting talented developers here.

Collapse
 
jriffs profile image
Jedi of JavaScript

You're welcome bro

Collapse
 
somtee99 profile image
Somtoo Okafor

Thanks man

Collapse
 
konaduu profile image
Abena konadu

Hello I'm Abena Konadu
I am a newbie to everything code, I just started reading and learning few things here and there at the beginning of this year so far I know a little Html, CSS and javascript and I love it but I am stuck now I don't know what else to do or learn to get better. My goal is to be a really good front-end web developer. I'd like to hear your suggestions and advice to help achieve my goal.

Collapse
 
taltrums profile image
Mohd Talha

Please check out freecodecamp it is a great place to learn front end development. Make small static websites for starters. Also after getting good understanding of these, do check out React framework, it's quite popular these days. I hope this helps 😊

Collapse
 
konaduu profile image
Abena konadu

Hello thanks so much. I will check them out
Thank you 😊

Collapse
 
flcn16 profile image
THE FALCON

Hey, Everyone

My name is Rishabh from india. I am creating websites from last 4+ years.

Collapse
 
ibtasam_ilahi profile image
Ibtasam Ilahi

Hello telented peaple , i am Ibtasam ilahi and I’m a graduate and looking for motivation to Keep coding until i hit a job ..
First expression of this website blown my mind .. how lite this sit and soothing color scheme lol .. no but i looking forward to learn from experts.. wish me luck ❤️

Collapse
 
monfernape profile image
Usman Khalil

Welcome Ibtsam.

Collapse
 
deveshlashkari profile image
Devesh Lashkari

Hello Everyone! My name is Devesh and I have been working in the field from past 2 years. I just got to know about this from twitter and I read some articles and found them very useful.

Hope I can also make some valuable contributions to the platform which will help everyone.

Collapse
 
segun98 profile image
Segun98

Joined Dev a few minutes ago and I already published my first post :D . Link: dev.to/segun98/query-graphql-api-i...

I am relatively a newbie and I am passionate about building useful solutions on the web.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Congrats on your first post!

1st place in Mariokart

Collapse
 
umar93 profile image
Umar Bashir Rather

Hello Everyone! My name is Umar Bashir Rather and I'm a beginner to coding, but a quick learner.

I know HTML,CSS, Bootstrap, and now working hard to learn and make my self comfort with Javascript and just trying to find my way to the skills to land me a job as a developer. Looking forward to learning everything I can from the community, and maybe contributing a little knowledge myself one day!

Collapse
 
ghostjavawriter profile image
Bair

"Hello World!"
I'm Bair from Russia, Irkutsk. My city is't far from Baikal lake - clearest and biggest in the world!
Please, forgive me for my english (I would be appreciate, if you correct me)

I wanna be an iOS Developer and now i just started to learn swift.
This is where I hope to find some support and experience from real developers.
And I wanna find people like me than to go this way together.

That's all for now.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Amy Poehler being cool

Collapse
 
jeffchavez_dev profile image
Jeff Chavez • Edited

Hi Guys!

I'm new here. I am a freelance web developer, and I love to code. I'm current learning JavaScript and it's really challenging me. I have goal of being a front-end developer. I'm still a newbie and I wish to learn from this community.

Most of all. I'm a Christian and I love to code and do programming to the glory of God!

Cheers!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Yeah! 👋

A T-Rex saying Yeah!

Collapse
 
seanthegreat profile image
Sean Antony Brunton

Hello I'm Sean

Well, might as well introduce myself.

I wouldn't consider myself a beginner, however I am not a professional programmer. I enjoy to learn about programming as a hobby. I have a deep passion for mathematics and physics in general. naturally I enjoy Lisp based dialects (focusing mainly on Information System development with Clojure & ClojureScript) purely because it is the purest and most concurrent form of programming ever invented. I do like to better grasp the nature of how information works, and I have a huge curiosity into the working of the human mind, and intelligence in general (I enjoy learning about Psychology as well).

From this curiosity, and one from working with electronic and electrical engineering related work, I started messing around with computers about 17 years ago now. One would say I am a bit of "bubble boy" and a late bloomer when it comes to computer science. None the less, today it is my sun shine in life, and why I like to code privately. Maybe one day I would like to work in a real programming job, but I am a super lazy dude and I am rather good at fixing and installing turnkey UPS systems for the family business, working for family comes with perks and life is easier. Not all bells and whistles though! It's pretty tough to make money in the pandemic!

I would consider myself ignorant from the programming world, but no stranger to a good old hack. Yes I leaned how to hack with a soldering iron, a solder sucker, and a broken PCB from a UPS, before I even knew what a terminal, interpreter or REPL was! So yeah. Sometimes I get very eccentric, I was mentored by a genius of an electrical engineer who drilled '3' into me, and was probably the biggest Nikola Tesla fan I knew of! So I will try and refrain from doing that. Sometimes I can't help it when I blog, so it does manage to find its way out of me, at times. I was also taught that a big problem, require patience, deep thought and thought experiment. So forgive me if I get eccentric at times.

I have never been formally educated at a tertiary level (or high school for that matter). I actually dropped out in my 10th grade. So I am not accustomed to the norm of things. I have always taught myself. I have a learning disability (I am autistic), and have annoying dyslexia! I learn about ten billion times slower than most people. Anyway I hope this community can help me improve myself. There is always room for improvement I say! I have created a number of my own little apps, including one I wrote in PHP (mixed with some JavaScript for pretty little HTML & CSS enhancement) which would help with a calculation of a turnkey UPS installation, the app does everything from power calculation, to the battery-powered back up time of the machine, thanks to wonderful arithmetic, the algorithms can be adjusted to work with any UPS spec, and the actual discharging specs of a battery, used in a UPS system, to calculate a desired back up time, accommodating a requested load obviously.

I 'mapped' the algorithms to a MySQL database of my own company's range of products, which in turn facilitates another search algorithm, which helps the user find the best suited application for his or hers UPS installation request / quote. It is a bold attempt to regulate my local marketplace in my own country. I since decided that a LiSp will make the app work a whole lot better, and will stop me from sabotaging my own code. Which is one thing that annoyed me about Object Orientated programming, which I find behaves the same as my own scattered brain! I've also written a script in Python that manipulate an SNMP adapter, to interface with a headless Linux-based OS.

All this work is still somewhat messy, and only has basic functionality. I get impatient with front end stuff. LoL. I write a lot of Python code and enjoy mucking around with notebook editors, to study scientific data which catches my interest. My brain is still very scattered though, so hopefully this community can help me with that. Yep that me!

Collapse
 
pablohs1986 profile image
Pablo Herrero

Hey 👋
My name is Pablo and I’m a development student who writes from Spain. It’s a pleasure to be part of this community 👍👍👍

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Spiderman swinging by to say hello

Collapse
 
pablohs1986 profile image
Pablo Herrero

hey

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.