DEV Community

Cover image for Weekly Goals: Week of 8/11/19
Ryan Furrer
Ryan Furrer

Posted on • Updated on

Weekly Goals: Week of 8/11/19

Happy Monday and welcome to another weekly roundup! This is my weekly thread on what I did or didn't do last week, what happened, and what my goals are for this new week. Let's get started!

Last Week’s Goals

  • 3 Blog Posts
    • One of which being my first technical blog
  • Meeting with my mentor
  • Continue working on JS 30 ☑
  • Portfolio Redesign ☑
    • Anything I create I want to be clean, semantic, and meaningful - No extra fluff
    • Include some JS but don't rely on it
  • Continue working through my Treehouse Track ☑
  • Bonus: Start my React course on Udemy

What Happened?

Let's get through what I didn't get done last week.

  • Writing 3 Blog Posts

I didn't have anything new or exciting for my "Journey to My New Career" series and this is the first week I didn't write anything for it. I'm not too upset about it, however, as I was able to get my first technical blog out into the world! I'd like to write more of these as I continue learning so I can give back and hopefully help all of you out in some way, shape, or form!

  • Meeting with my mentor

I try to have a weekly video call with my mentor, Benjamin Lannon, who I found via coadingcoach.io. This week, however, I did not feel well and accidentally slept through our appointment - sorry, Ben!

screenshot of codingcoach.io website

I already spoke to him regarding this - if you ever have a mentor or teacher please communicate with them as much as you can. Remember, they are giving up their time to you.

Moving Forward

My new portfolio site is almost done! This is what I have been working on the most and I am very excited to unveil it. I am hoping to complete it by next Saturday, August 17th. Here's a quick peak:

screenshot of Ryan Furrer's website banner

This isn't a finished project, please no judging

After my portfolio site is done, I have a new project to work on - a website for my father's local business. This is going to be the biggest site and project I've worked on but I have some great ideas and want to get it underway for him.

This Week’s Goals 8/12/19 - 8/18/19

  • Finish portfolio site redesign
  • Write blog about portfolio site redesign
  • Video call with mentor
  • Continue working on Wes Bos' JS 30
  • Get started on new project
  • KEEP LEARNING JAVASCRIPT

I feel like my goals are just kind of broad lately. Learn this, keep working on that, write blogs. But that is what I am doing right now - learning and absorbing as much as possible. Writing these blogs helps me reflect on the past week and see where I was and where I'm going.

As usual, feel free to comment down below or you can always reach out to me on Twitter.

Top comments (0)