DEV Community

Cover image for A New Start....
ABHISHEK CHANDRASENAN
ABHISHEK CHANDRASENAN

Posted on

A New Start....

Prologue

Ohkay, My name is Abhishek Chandrasenan and this is my new journey of a new career where I will be the best of the best. Shit, that was too dramatic. Sorry for that.

Wait lemme start over.

My name is Abhishek Chandrasenan, working as a software engineer in a company who is trying to up-skill myself in web development. Now that feels more like me.

Time Travel

I have been into programming since my 11th standard because my brother was into programming and we developed same hatred for biology(not that biology though :') ).
Once I finished my 12th standard and scoring 98/100 in Computer Science I thought I was some big shot in programming, but only to realise later when I joined college that turbo C++ was outdated as fuck and people had already working on live projects and I knew some algorithms in C++. I was sad to be honest, but I was enjoying my college life so, it was all cool.

When Realisation Struck Right On My Ass

But deep down I always wanted to you know code, or program like we see in movies, I mean I know that's not coding but anyway that never happened to me.My college had some pretty good placements so I thought to myself that when I would join a company I will at least do some sort of shit. But guess what I have been doing nothing. NOTHING.

And this is exactly (it's been almost 6 months) when I decided that I needed to up-skill myself and get my shit done.

The company that I work in trained me in React JS, and oh boy, I love React. I don't know why but I just love the way React works and the interesting stuff that is there to explore.

When The stars Aligned

After a lot of procrastination and being lazy as fuck I bought a Udemy Course which basically says : The Complete JavaScript Course 2021: From Zero to Expert! and I was ready to become an expert in JavaScript. LOL

Good People

The reason why I wanted to start off with JavaScript was basically because I have a mentorish/very good friend of mine who is exceptionally well in this field, and he keeps telling the importance to learn JavaScript and I guess after multiple iterations of rewinding multiple conversation I finally decided to start my JavaScript Journey

Action Plan

If you have ever tried on a coding tutorial, you know how boring it gets and how you just are interested in the 1st 2-3 videos and then just go blaaaah, and trust me I have been mastering that and as I knew myself pretty well I decided that I would do these 3 things no matter what:

  1. I would only and only focus on this particular course. (So what generally happens with me is that I would see a topic from the course and I would just go on searching and searching and would never come back to the course and it would go to my hall of incompleted courses.)
  2. How much ever I know the topic, I would sit through it. (So as I studied a lil bit of programming from school and college, I have this habit of "Oh! I know this shit! I will just skip". I am not letting that happen here.)
  3. Listen to the lecture and only then code, never together.(So, when I try to code at the same time when they teach, I just frantically rewind thinking that I missed something they said and I would end up more time in sections that I am supposed to and I feel as if I am dragging. So no more of that.)

Where Am I Now?

It's been three days since I have been putting ~7 hrs a day and those 3 points are something I am trying follow meticulously but even then I have a habit of coding and listening to lecture at the same time.

But I am happy with the progress I have been making. Actually very proud that I decided to do this.

First Output

There was a crash course on HTML and CSS on that course and I made this. It's nothing special just raw HTML and CSS and I thought I would just put it up so that I can come back and see how much I have progressed.

Future Plans

This was purely a non-technical write-up, but I am planning to write what I learn from the course on a regular basis so that it might help someone who can't afford that course and at the same time I would be able to re-enforce my learning.

If you have reached here reading this, I cannot thank you enough. Much love

Top comments (0)