DEV Community

Cover image for Selenium project with Python to scrap data
Pramod Kodag
Pramod Kodag

Posted on

Selenium project with Python to scrap data

I am excited to share one of my initial projects, which holds a special place in my portfolio. This project involved scraping data from the ICEGATE website while overcoming challenging security measures, including captchas. Through perseverance and expertise in Python, I developed a bot that successfully bypassed captchas using Tesseract, extracted and parsed the data, and stored it in a MySQL database.

Overcoming the Captcha Barrier: In the early stages of this project, I encountered captchas implemented on the ICEGATE website, designed to prevent automated scraping. Overcoming this obstacle required innovative thinking and technical skills. To address this challenge, I leveraged Tesseract, an OCR engine. By training Tesseract on a diverse set of captcha images, I enabled my bot to accurately recognize and decode captchas, effectively bypassing this security measure.

Scraping and Parsing Data: Once the captcha barrier was overcome, I focused on scraping the desired data from the ICEGATE website. Python, with its rich ecosystem of libraries, proved to be an excellent choice for this task. I utilized powerful web scraping libraries such as BeautifulSoup and Selenium to navigate the website, extract the required data, and prepare it for further processing.

Parsing the obtained data was a crucial step in transforming the raw information into a structured format. With Python's string manipulation capabilities and the use of regular expressions, I developed a robust parsing algorithm. This algorithm efficiently extracted the relevant information from the data dump, ensuring its cleanliness and compatibility for subsequent analysis.

Storing Data in MySQL Database: To ensure proper management and accessibility of the scraped data, I integrated a MySQL database into the project. Leveraging the MySQL Connector library in Python, I established a seamless connection between my bot and the database. This allowed me to store the parsed data in well-structured tables and columns, facilitating efficient retrieval and future use.

Top comments (0)