DEV Community

Thomas Cordeiro
Thomas Cordeiro

Posted on

What I have learned so far with Python

Python is a fantastic programming language and I found that for me, it is the easiest language I have seen so far, well I do not have lots of knowledge on different languages, in fact I have had contact only with C++ and JS before, and I was told that JS is the most simply language for beginners, what I do not agree, I can surely say that Python is!

But what makes me say that? Simple answer, in my view Python has a simple syntax, with no complication and it is very direct. If you want to print something, just use print()! That is what I am talking about, simplicity.

The languages are classified in basically two fields: Natural and Formal . The Natural languages are the languages we speak, like English, German, Spanish (...), and the Formal are the languages we use to "talk" to machines, used to represent Math, Chemistry and so on. Formal languages tend to have a strict syntax and very specific. Python has an easy to understand syntax and it is very similar to our natural language, what makes it easy to learn.

What can we do with Python?

Hard question to answer because we can use Python for a lot of things. Data Science, Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence, Web Development, simple manipulation of data... well the possibilities are immense. There are awesome libraries out there to be used according to the need of the project: TensorFLow, Numpy, SciPy...

So far I was able to write small programs like the Iris flower classification (a very beginner program), compared and created charts on population growth, prices of cars sales according to their features, basic suggestion program based on previous choices from user and I even created a simple game with Python, what I find fantastic!

Well we all know that not everything can be only flowers, if you know what I mean. As every language, Python requires dedication, effort, practice, persistence and maybe the most important: Passion. So if you are learning Python, or thinking about it, be prepared to struggle sometimes and to study a lot, but I guess that is is like that with every language or every new subject we learn.

So, to finish, I really want to encourage you to start your studies with Python,not only if you are new to coding. It is a wonderful language and I learned so many things that are applicable to other languages too! The possibilities are that you fall in love with it or learn something new, but I guarantee, it totally worth a try!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
winstonyallow profile image
Winston

I first learned Lite-C and JavaScript. After that I learned python too. I remember being impressed by the simplicity of python, I can absolutely relate to your article! I have learned a few more languages since then, however I still like python the most. Whenever it makes sense to use python for a project I use it.

I want to add to your last paragraph:

So, to finish, I really want to encourage you to start your studies with Python

I want to encourage everyone to learn python, not only if you are new to coding. It is a wonderful language and I learned so many things that are applicable to other languages too!

Collapse
 
thomcord profile image
Thomas Cordeiro

Thank you Winston! I will certainly add it.

Collapse
 
sahajranipa1 profile image
sahaj ranipa

Sir can you provide the full road map for python because I want to learn it. Like from where did you refer or learn all those topics which are discussed above? Thanks for this article.

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

If you've already got some programming background, I would encourage you to look through the tutorial included in the official documentation. It actually does a pretty good job of covering the basics of the language itself in a way that's pretty easy to understand.

Collapse
 
thomcord profile image
Thomas Cordeiro

Totally agree. It can be little confusing without any background, but if one knows something, it is the best source of learning material

Collapse
 
thomcord profile image
Thomas Cordeiro

Hi Sahaj,

Well, it is important to have an idea of what you want to do with the language, I want, for example learn Data Science, Machine Learning and AI, so I tend to look for all these topics, but of course you can just learn to language and later decide where you want to apply it. There are steps and concepts to learn in the beginning, I would list as:
Learn:

  • Variables
  • Conditionals
  • For loops
  • While loops
  • Object oriented programming

There is a great book called 'Think Python' start with this book. It will help a lot. (greenteapress.com/thinkpython/thin...) - copy and paste the link on the browser.
You can also take a look at: python.org

I will create a post in the future about this road map, and I will let you know.

Also check this out : dev.to/thomcord/how-creating-a-sol...