DEV Community

Cover image for Day #2 of #100daysofMiva || Python Lists
TD!
TD!

Posted on

Day #2 of #100daysofMiva || Python Lists

I apologize for the delay in releasing my Day #2 report, as I've been juggling multiple tech projects simultaneously. Nevertheless, I'm excited to share my learnings from Day #2 of my Python journey in the #100daysofMiva challenge.

Day #2: Python Lists

Click here for some Simple Python Lists I worked with

Python Lists are a fundamental data structure in Python, and I'm thrilled to have dedicated Day #2 to exploring their intricacies. Here's a summary of what I learned:

Image description

  1. Access List items: I learned how to access individual list items using indexing and slicing techniques. For example, if we have a list my_list = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5], I can access the first item using my_list[0] and get the output 1. I can also use slicing to get a subset of the list, like my_list[1:3] to get [2, 3].

  2. Change List items: I discovered how to modify list items using assignment operators. For instance, if we have a list my_list = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5], I can change the second item to 10 using my_list[1] = 10, and the list becomes [1, 10, 3, 4, 5].

  3. Add List items: I practiced adding items to lists using the append(), extend(), and insert() methods. For example, I can add an item to the end of the list using my_list.append(6), or insert an item at a specific position using my_list.insert(2, 7).

  4. Remove List items: I learned how to remove items from lists using the remove(), pop(), and del statements. For instance, I can remove the first occurrence of the item 2 using my_list.remove(2), or remove the item at a specific position using my_list.pop(1).

  5. Loop lists: I understood how to iterate over lists using for loops and while loops. For example, I can use a for loop to print each item in the list: for item in my_list: print(item).

  6. List comprehension: I grasped the concept of list comprehension and how to create new lists from existing ones. For instance, I can create a new list with squares of numbers using [x**2 for x in my_list].

  7. Sort lists: I learned how to sort lists using the sort() and sorted() functions. For example, I can sort the list in ascending order using my_list.sort() or get a sorted copy of the list using sorted(my_list).

  8. Copy lists: I discovered how to create copies of lists using the copy() method and the list() function. For instance, I can create a shallow copy of the list using my_list.copy() or a deep copy using list(my_list).

  9. Join lists: I practiced concatenating lists using the + operator and the extend() method. For example, I can concatenate two lists using my_list + [6, 7, 8] or extend the list using my_list.extend([6, 7, 8]).

Image description

  • List methods: I explored various list methods, including count(), index(), reverse(), and clear(). For instance, I can count the occurrences of an item using my_list.count(2) or get the index of the first occurrence using my_list.index(2).

Image description

Understanding indexing

The list elements can be accessed using the “indexing” technique. Lists are ordered collections with unique indexes for each item. We can access the items in the list using this index number. See image below:

Image description

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
marvellye profile image
Ezekiel Marvellous

Amazing 👏🏻. Python lists have been broken down into segments with beginners in mind. Welldone👍🏻

Collapse
 
tobidelly profile image
TD!

Thank you

Collapse
 
adeleke123 profile image
Bakare Muideen Adeleke

Amazing 😍

Collapse
 
tobidelly profile image
TD!

Thank you