DEV Community

TomCRiley
TomCRiley

Posted on

Stupid question maybe..

I'm a coding newbie having just emerged from a coding bootcamp. I'm toying with swift and native iOS development but on my course I learnt webdev with React.

I've just come across React Native - as far as I am aware you can only publish to the app store in Swift and Objective C? So how can you make 'native' iOS apps in React Native?

I think I must be missing something obvious 😮‍💨

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
awesomemg profile image
Mason Grose

It looks like you can! You can read more here reactnative.dev/docs/publishing-to...

Collapse
 
tomcriley profile image
TomCRiley

Thanks! I hadn’t looked too in-depth at the docs. Lesson learnt 😅

Collapse
 
awesomemg profile image
Mason Grose

Hey, not sure if I'm not understanding it correctly, but I think you spelled learned wrong.

Thread Thread
 
tomcriley profile image
TomCRiley

Oh. Learnt is the past participle of “to learn”. I think it might more British English than American English.

Thread Thread
 
awesomemg profile image
Mason Grose

Ah, okay! Thanks for that new vocabulary!