DEV Community

Cover image for Why shall you shell as a webdev? And other terminal topics
Tom Granot
Tom Granot

Posted on

Why shall you shell as a webdev? And other terminal topics

I have a great affinity for textual interfaces.

Knowing my way around a terminal has, by far and wide, been the skill with the highest ROI (Return On Investment) in my toolbelt.

It enables you to, in no particular order:

Yes, this is a Windows CMD GIF, and not a Linux terminal one. I regret nothing.

Discuss!

I can not recommend learning the terminal enough. It's a real treat, and I think its versatility practically ensures there's a use case for it somewhere in your workflow - even for non-programmers!

What do you think? Shall everyone shell, or is GUI king of the realm?

And specifically - how important are terminal skills for the average web developer?

Side Note

See the cover image? Try running curl parrot.live from your terminal, and you can get the party parrot too!

See here for more information.

Top comments (0)