DEV Community

Cover image for My newest open source video game: "Rue"
Tom Tsagk
Tom Tsagk

Posted on

My newest open source video game: "Rue"

I'd like to present my newest video game "Rue". This is a card game, where all players sit around a table, with a rose moving from around.

The aim of the game is for each player to deduct the opponent's moves and influence the rose to end in the player's side.

This project is available for free, and is also open-sourced.

It is currently in Alpha, having just the base game implemented. There's a few features and some polish planned, but until then feel free to enjoy the game. It is available for Windows, Linux and Android.

Check out its web page: https://darkdimension.org/games/rue.html

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
abhinav1217 profile image
Abhinav Kulshreshtha • Edited

I haven't played the game yet because I saw .ddh extension and got confused. After some time, I realized that you have another project avdl.
So you created your own programming language so that you can create game. This is got to be a xkcd level flex, Hats off to you sir.

avdl looks interesting. I have bookmarked it, Currently I am working with Godot but considering the size of rue repository, I would love to try it out in future.

Collapse
 
tomtsagk profile image
Tom Tsagk

I haven't played the game yet because I saw .ddh extension and got confused.

Is that in the game's source code? The game was made with the avdl programming language, which is (temporarily) using .dd and .ddh extensions. I believe I've added some information about how to compile it from source, but there's compiled binaries on Marketplaces mentioned on the game's page (like in Itch.io).

avdl looks interesting. I have bookmarked it, Currently I am working with Godot but considering the size of rue repository, I would love to try it out in future.

I appreciate that. I'm currently working on adding more documentation and samples, to make it easier for new people to give the language a try, so any feedback is very welcome.

Collapse
 
ceoshikhar profile image
Shikhar

Why are you using "notabug" ? 😕

Collapse
 
tomtsagk profile image
Tom Tsagk

It works, it's simple, it does the job. Not any particular reason really. Also I quite like the "aesthetics" of it. Not sure how to explain that.