DEV Community

marcusdiedrich
marcusdiedrich

Posted on

Responsive Web Design Certified!πŸ‘¨πŸ»β€πŸ’»

First Certification Down

RWDcert

  • Hello again guys! I am super glad to be letting you know that I've completed the last project for the Responsive Web Design course by Free Code Camp!

  • I now feel comfortable with using programming languages such as HTML and CSS. I find CSS to be a lot of fun with some of the visual effects and things you can do. Next I'll start the following FCC certification in line, which is JavaScript! https://www.freecodecamp.org/learn/javascript-algorithms-and-data-structures/ :)

  • If anyone has any tips or recommended resources please don't hesitate to let me know! Also thanks for anyone who's been reading these so far, I'll keep updating my progress as I go along πŸ™‚

  • So glad I found DEV.to 😬

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR πŸ₯‡ • Edited

Congratulations! πŸ˜„
FreeCodeCamp is a good place to start with web development, I suggest you to continue with those certificates.

As tip, don't describe HTML or CSS as programming languages, adding the explanation below for educational purposes.

  • HTML is a markup language. A markup language is a way of encoding a document that, along with the text, incorporates tags or marks that contain additional information about the structure of the text or its presentation.
  • CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) is a graphic design language for defining and creating the presentation of a structured document written in a markup language such as HTML.

The main reason why HTML and CSS aren’t considered programming languages is because they only determine the structure and the style of the webpage you’re building.

Regarding the latest updates on CSS it may be considered as programming language in a future as it's getting nice capabilities (we can now create CSS variables and great stuff).

JavaScript it is in fact a programming language and if you follow the Algorithms and Data Structures certification you are going to see those differences soon :)

Have a great day!