DEV Community

Adarsh TS
Adarsh TS

Posted on

"Hello, World!" for Communication

This is my first post. I wanted to write about myself and the stuff I do for a long time. After reading the post by @danytulumidis on Communication is Key I decided to finally do this.

A little about me

I'm doing my undergraduate in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from SRMIST, Chennai. In my high school days, programming was not a thing which my friends or the people I knew were involved in. After dabbling on some languages I finally fell in love with Python.

I had taken a Computer Science course to learn C before I knew Python. It was horrible! All I learnt was boilerplate code:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <conio.h>
int main () {

    return 0;
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

My teacher did a very poor job of explaining what these actually meant (maybe I never asked). I couldn't wrap my mind around these repeating lines of code in every piece of C code I write. For a beginner like me back then it meant missing blocks of key information.

I completed the course somehow but never opened the C reference book again. I was over with programming then. Fin.

But things changed. After a few months I tried to learn programming once again but this time from a good resource. The top Google result brought me to Codecademy. After reading some articles on the language I should learn, I decided to start a journey in JavaScript. I took notes and became more aware of programming practices. The most important takeaway for me was to refer the documentation. I always thought one needed to know all the nitty-gritty stuff of the language!

I didn't last long in the course. I don't know why I left the course mid-way and I never used JS after that (till now!). My next encounter with programming was when I entered my 11th grade. Until then the CS course in 11th grade was Introduction to C++. The education system decided to give us a choice to learn either C++ or Python. And Python was chosen.

I wanted to have a head-start so I took up a Python course in Codecadamy. I fell in love with Python from the very first print statement.

print "Hello, World!"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

It was so easy to learn Python. The language syntax was very close to spoken English. I didn't need to encounter any technical jargon. When I was a few weeks in, my CS teacher told that we were learning the older version of Python (Python2.7) and that we need to update to the latest Python3.6. A lot of syntax changes had taken place in the updated version. Notably, my favorite print statement was now:

print("Hello, World!")
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Did I take up the challenge to learn Python3.6?

P.S. Writing this post gave me more insight to myself. I've never shared my this journey with anyone. I will try to write more soon.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
darshkul24 profile image
Darsh

Nice story..✌✌👍👍