DEV Community

For techies with Ticks and Disorders

After a lengthy hiatus, I am back with a question for the techies with Disorders: how do you cope with Pressure & Ticks?
Every time I start a new task or Exam I go full board, No sleep and get a seizure.
I wish to break that cycle. Do you have any advice from a veteran?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
saamiabbaskhan profile image
Saami abbas Khan

As far as I understand your problem, try starting things early. In the case of exams, you could begin studying a few weeks in advance to avoid piling up work at the last minute. I get the urge to complete a project in one go, but it doesn’t work that way—you have to take care of your body, too. A healthy body leads to a healthy mind. Try giving yourself breaks and controlling the urge to do everything all at once (control your emotions).

I’ll tell you my story: I used to do these kinds of things, but I faced consequences. Whenever I overworked, I had the same stressful dreams (kind of haunted, overstressing dreams). So, try to take it easy and plan ahead. If you have an urgent project, sometimes it can’t be helped, but for most cases, pacing yourself is key.

Collapse
 
tumorb9 profile image
Mohammed Hamza (Horse Radish)

thank you for the advice and support, actually I had an exam a little while ago and was emotionally and mentally maxed out.
that resulted in a bad seizure, so in a moment of despair, I threw almost everything away and decided to stop trying. (studying, working, etc)
but I need the word balance in my everyday life. and patience

Collapse
 
saamiabbaskhan profile image
Saami abbas Khan

Stay strong and keep patience as your anchor. You’ve got this!