DEV Community

Cover image for How I started my Web Development journey
Tushar Jain
Tushar Jain

Posted on

How I started my Web Development journey

In this blog, I'll share my 1 year of learning experience ๐Ÿ“Š and How I started my Web Development journey with a glimpse at some of my projects and courses/resources that I followed in this journey and few tips from my side if you are aiming towards the Web Development domain.

Who am I?

I'm Tushar Jain, a Full Stack Web DeveloperโŒจ, and a UI/UX designer๐ŸŽจ, Currently pursuing my BTech course in Computer Science and Engineering from the Indian Institute of Information Technology, Ranchi. I've been into web development for a year. Besides this, I also do Competitive Coding and that too from the last year.

Background

So I joined my Institute in 2019 and in my first two semesters of my college life I just enjoyed learning nothing as I was just trying to take a break from that JEE phase of my life ๐Ÿ˜… but somehow I managed a decent GPA. Then I came to know about this web stuff at the end of the 2nd semester and decided to take a dive into web development before the lockdown last year. By the way, I was never into this coding or any HTML stuff in my school life๐Ÿ˜.

How I started?

I started my journey by learning HTML5 and CSS3 in parallel from W3School. (Tip: Don't Try to learn everything in the first go it's an ongoing process)
Alt Text
And wrote my first HTML script (Code Link, Site Link) with the basic knowledge I got in two weeks from the W3school. (Tip: Try sharing your work with others to get feedback).

From there I started learning Javascript from W3School. It took me few weeks from there to gather the required knowledge of javascript to build a TicTacToe Game. So In a month, I was having the basics of HTML+CSS+JS( although I didn't learn everything, I just learn those things which were required).
Alt Text

In April our Institute's WebD community introduced a Hackathon in web development with the problem statement that we've to develop an E-Cart system. Although I was not having any knowledge of Backend but I registered in it (Tip: Hackathon is a great way to learn something new in a fixed interval of time and I take part in Hackathons whenever I get time.).
And I managed to learn PHP and SQL and managed to make my submission for the Hackathon. Here is my submission and Know what?? I came First in that Hackathon ๐Ÿฅณ

After that, I came across the MERN stack in August last year (MongoDb + ExpressJS + ReactJS + NodeJS) and started learning this stack and made few projects using this tech stack. Currently, I'm trying to understand this tech stack more.
Alt Text

Few of my Projects

  • GeekNote: A web app that provides organized notes and resources for our batch with a separate blogging system.

  • hG: Web app aimed to portray the Technical Society of the Institute.

  • IEEESB Webapp :
    A full-stack website for all utilities of the student branch.

  • E-Cart System E-Cart system with an automatic invoice generation system

  • Event Broadcasting System: Portal which aimed at making a single event broadcasting platform for different clubs of the institute

Resources I followed

  • HTML5 - W3School
  • CSS3 - W3School
  • PHP+SQL - W3School
  • The Complete JavaScript Course 2021: From Zero to Expert! By Jonas Schmedtmann - Link
  • HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers offered by Johns Hopkins University- Link
  • Bootstrap Framework -Official Documentation
  • Front-End Web UI Frameworks and Tools: Bootstrap 4 - Link
  • Front-End Web Development with React - Link
  • The Complete Node.js Developer Course (3rd Edition)By Andrew Mead, Rob Percival -Link
  • MongoDB - MongoDB University

Connect with me โœจ

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
afif profile image
Temani Afif

I don't advise using W3School as an ultime reference. It's good to learn things but It's known to contain few mistakes and some inaccurate content. Always consider the MDN and the official specification as a reference (even if I know that the specification is not easy to follow for beginners)

Collapse
 
lionelrowe profile image
lionel-rowe

MDN is the sweet spot for me. Clear, accurate, comprehensive enough for almost all use cases as a web developer. The spec can be useful if you need a deep dive, but it's more for implementers rather than consumers of web APIs.

Collapse
 
max81coding profile image
Anthony Maxwell

Hey! Great post!

I actually just got the same From Zero to Expert Udemy course yesterday. Apparently it was updated recently. As a graduate of the course, how did you find it?

Collapse
 
zippytyro profile image
Shashwat Verma

Thanks for the resources

Collapse
 
mihara17 profile image
Michelle Te Whata

Amazing work!

Collapse
 
shashanks1ngh profile image
Shashank Singh

inspiring ๐Ÿ™Œ

Collapse
 
emperoryp7 profile image
Yash Pandey (YP)

Awesome!

Collapse
 
lywa3 profile image
O'neil-levy

Merci

Collapse
 
princealarming profile image
Prince-Alarming

Solid coding, good going Tushar, congrats on winning the Hackathon.

Collapse
 
ankiiitraj profile image
Ankit Raj

This will be definitely helpful to all beginners out there! ๐ŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
augustoapg profile image
Augusto Peres

Awesome post Tushar! Very inspiring!

Collapse
 
kshitijtripathi profile image
dcoderpikachu

Thanks for sharing! Keep writing!