DEV Community

Cover image for How I Negotiated Job Offers in my Career...
Ankur Tyagi
Ankur Tyagi

Posted on • Updated on

How I Negotiated Job Offers in my Career...

How I Negotiated Job Offers in my Career...

A Thread... pic.twitter.com/HlsoTct9E3

— Ankur💻🎧💪 (@TheAnkurTyagi) May 7, 2021

How I Negotiated Job Offers in my Career...

Congratulations, you got an offer!

That’s great news, negotiating the details of an offer is part of the process of getting hired.

One important thing to remember is that entry-level jobs are not always open for salary negotiation.

but that doesn’t mean that you can’t work with an employer to make sure you get a combination of salary and benefits that will work for you.

“Whether you think you can or you think you can’t, you’re right.” — Henry Ford

Salary negotiation is an art.

If you don’t ask for what you want, you’re not going to get it.

It does not matter how slowly you go as long as you do not stop.

Believe you can negotiate and you’re halfway there.

I always establish a connection with my negotiator...

You’ve got to develop, in whatever amount of time you have, a degree of personal empathy with that person

some kind of personal connection with the individual so they look at you as other than something like a cog in a wheel.

If you want to maximize your pay, the rule is:

"Do not bring up pay first."

If you throw out the first number, you might be negotiating against yourself, since it is possible the employer would be willing to make a higher salary offer than what you propose.

I make all of my requests at once when negotiating...

Don’t make the mistake of negotiating each benefit individually so that you are constantly requesting new stuff.

Divide your request in two ways:

  • hard request
  • soft request

Anything related to pay, bonuses and stock options should be negotiated together, as part of your hard requests.

Once you have reached an agreement on those, move on to the softer requests like vacation time, flexible work, and job title, WFH.

I always go with my research...

There are several sites that can help make the process both quick and easy.

To get a better idea of the average salary for a specific job or industry, head over to Glassdoor.

Do or do not. There is no try...

I always be grateful, not entitled...

One of the most important aspects of negotiating a job offer is saying thank you as soon as you receive it.

Receiving an offer is a great sign that an employer sees your potential and believes that you would be a good fit for the role.

I never focus entirely on the salary during negotiating...

Many developers only negotiate salary and bonuses, but that is a huge mistake.

There are many other aspects of a job that can be negotiated.

“The future depends on what you do today.” — Mahatma Gandhi

I never sell myself short...

Most developers don’t realize the amount of value and benefit you can bring to a company.

During a negotiation, the employer is trying to entice you to work for them while offering you the minimum.

“Nothing will work unless you do.”

Don’t be afraid to show your worth to the company and back it up with statistics and your experience to get the best job offer you deserve.

I am not a product of my circumstances.
I am a product of my decisions.
I am a product of my mistakes.

Harder I practice, luckier I get.

That's it for today & Thanks for reading.

I have written a book for developer growth & shared my 12+ years of experience.

If you are serious to grow as a developer.

Grab the book now for just $10 The Prime Guide

book.png

Join 200+ developers who already bought & growing better.

Thanks for reading.

If you’re a regular reader, thank you, you’re a big part of the reason I’ve been able to share my life/career experiences with you.

Connect with me on Twitter

Top comments (0)