DEV Community

Ankur Tyagi
Ankur Tyagi

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at theankurtyagi.com

Top Interview Soft skills Questions and Answers

What stands between you and that great career move is often an interviewer's toughest questions.

As an interviewee, You can handle these tricky interview questions with skill

Top Interview Questions and Answers

A Thread...

Don’t get caught out by the questions.

There’s a psychological game going on, so arrive prepared to win that career move.

Asking questions of your own balances out the interview power dynamics.

Why do you want to work for this company? 🚀

DON’T play into the interviewer’s hands.

While I liked what I read on your webpage and in the job specification, I’m not yet convinced that this job is right for me.

Would you mind telling me why you like working for this company?

Are you happy with your current/previous employer? 🚀

If you like your boss, this question will be a breeze to answer.

However, if your boss is HITLER & MICRO MANAGER?

You have NOTHING to gain by telling your interviewer that your ex or current boss is an ass.

Instead 👇

My boss and I have a dynamic relationship.

We’re very different kinds of people, and although it was a challenge to start with, it’s taught me to (insert a lesson or two here).

I’m in a company to work, learn, and grow.

Are you punctual? 🚀

Are you? If you are, great

If like me, you’re the type who likes choosing your own hrs then you need to think about this one carefully.

“I’m very results-driven, get the job done, & I have often worked some more hours to stay to meet their deadlines.

What makes you think you can do this job? 🚀

I don’t yet have enough information about the position and your company to tell you that I can do this job.

Could you please tell me what you see in my qualifications and experience that make you believe I can do this job?”

If the interviewer does not have a copy of my résumé present, I will instead ask if he or she has had the opportunity to review my résumé.

you can come back to answer their question later once you know more about the position.

In what area do you feel you need improvement? 🚀

means
Right pointing backhand index
“What are your two weakest areas?”

Talk about weaknesses that they can already see on your résumé.

Be the first to bring these up. If the interviewer brings them up instead, you’ll likely be on the back foot.

Remember:

The company invited you in for the interview despite this weakness, so if they weren’t overly phased by your weakness, you shouldn’t be either.

“After reading through my résumé, what do you see as my areas for future improvement?”

Why are you leaving your present position? 🚀

One of the easier questions to answer:

Talk more about the future.

There are limited options currently at my present company, and the position you need to fill looks to offer some interesting challenges.

Kind of people do you have a difficult time working with? 🚀

I enjoy a diversity of personality types but don’t work well with dishonest people who're not team players

Ask back below two questions 👇

Are your team all honest and team players

Do you have any difficult characters in your team?

Where do you see yourself in five years? 🚀

If you have charm and a great sense of humor, you could say: “Doing your job,” but I personally wouldn’t gamble on it.

If you’re only taking the job for what it has to offer you in the short to medium term, then you better answer.

If you’re still in your twenties, you can answer with:

When I left college, I thought I had my career mapped out for 10 years.

Experience has taught me not to get ahead of myself with career planning. I’ve learned a lot about myself with each position.

So, I prefer to now be open to more career paths to gain the necessary experience.”

Then ask: “What do you see as possible career paths for the person who takes this position?”

May we contact your present employer? 🚀

Yes. Provided you’re offering me the position,

I’d be happy for you to talk with my present employer.

You would do well not to bug your boss with a phone call or e-mail to answer every interviewer asking questions about you.

I learned that telling your employer when you’re interviewing for another job is nearly always best.

Why? It lets them know that you have options

Surprisingly, your present employer will often either increase your pay to avoid losing you or improve your working conditions.

Beware & Remember👇

Some potential employers will contact your present employer even if you answer this question with an NO.

The way you say something is more important than what you’re saying. Be sincere and avoid sounding sarcastic.

Hope this helps you in the next interview!💙💙

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
190245 profile image
Dave

Honestly, most of these are simply badly worded questions from the interviewer perspective.

Example: "What makes you feel you can do this job?" - if, as an interviewer, I didn't already know the answer to that, you wouldn't be sitting in an interview. That's a bad interviewer wasting the candidates time, instead of reading the resume etc.

On a similar vein: "Are you punctual?" - in an interview setting, I don't care, and have hired people that were 45mins late to the interview. Life happens. If you regularly rock up late however, good luck surviving the probationary period.

Even the "tell me about your weaknesses" - is similar to a question that I ask, but it's followed up with the more important things. My version is "tell me a few things from your past work life, that you struggled with - or outright failed at, and what lessons they taught you."