DEV Community

Cover image for Rat Game - A terminal-based RPG
Tyler Bump
Tyler Bump

Posted on

Rat Game - A terminal-based RPG

Rat Game is a terminal-based RPG that was completely coded in Python. In Rat Game you play as a hero tasked with making their way through a dungeon full of various creatures.
I made Rat Game as my choice of a final project for the Codecademy CS 101 course. It's one of my only codes thus far that are completely my own, and after 3 long days of working on it, I think that it's something I can feel relatively proud of.

Image description

Once you start the game you will be asked for a name for your hero and what weapon to equip them with. This weapon can be a choice between a dagger, a sword, or an axe (each with their own unique stats).
Once you have chosen a name for your hero and have equipped them with your weapon of choice, you face your first foe "Remy the Rat". After "Remy" has been defeated you must fight your way through Skeletons and Ogres in order to make your way to the final boss "The Big Cheese".
In your encounters you can choose to attack your enemy directly, block for a chance to rebound half of your enemy's damage back at them, or even heal if you're looking a little low on health.

If you're interested in the game and would like to give it a try, you can check it out on GitHub.

Honestly I got way too sucked into this game while making it. I really didn't want it to be too easy or too hard before putting it out there. Even though the program is pretty simple, I really did enjoy my time making it and hope that in the future I will be working on similar and larger projects. Who knows, maybe I'll come back and improve a few things once I finish my course and get a bit more experience.

Top comments (0)