DEV Community

Cover image for Wanting to learn Gastby turned into running an impeachment website.
Tyler McSilva
Tyler McSilva

Posted on

Wanting to learn Gastby turned into running an impeachment website.

tl;dr I built https://www.impeachment.dev/ with Gatsby

πŸ•° Background

A few weeks back, I was having a conversation with my mother and was attempting to explain everything that was going on with the current impeachment inquiry happening in the United States.

I quickly realized it would be easier if I could send her a timeline of events that lead to this point. After searching Google and couldn't come up with a timeline, I thought about creating my own! I figured that most of the information on the site would be static, and since I wanted to learn more about JAMstack, I went with Gatsby.

🀯 What I Learned

  1. Gatsby is AMAZING if you want to quickly build out a website using the templates provided in their documentation. Most of my dev time was spent customizing what I wanted the site to look like, and very little time on configuration.
  2. Adding a pipeline from Github β†’ Netlify build was πŸ˜˜πŸ‘Œ*chef's kiss*. Setup took all of 5 minutes and now anytime master is updated, the website is updated within a few minutes allowing me to push out updates fairly quickly!
  3. Writing & researching about politics in a non-biased way is fairly difficult, but was a fun challenge for me!

πŸ”¨ Build Tools

πŸ€” What Now?

  • Well, currently I'm trying to update it as often as possible, but it's becoming increasingly harder with how fast information is coming out. (contributors welcome πŸ˜‰)
  • I think optimizing the site would be next. Currently the search function isn't the fastest or most performant, so updating that would be great.
  • Possibly build out individual profiles for the "key people" that would then produce an individual timeline of events for each person.

⬇️ Check out the website ⬇️
https://www.impeachment.dev/

⬇️ Want to contribute? (PRs are very welcomed, still missing info!) ⬇️
https://github.com/tylerbmcsilva/impeachment-2019

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

This is really clean and well done! It's also fact-driven and useful regardless of where you fall on the issue politically (unless you're in complete denial of the facts).

I left an issue πŸ™‚

Footer near top while loading #4

The site's fast and loading is pleasant, but the footer shows before the content is loaded. And then it's pushed to the bottom.

I think most likely there should be a minimum height for the content of 100vh to keep the footer below the fold.

Collapse
 
tylerbmcsilva profile image
Tyler McSilva

Yay! Thank you so much, I’ll fix today πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

It’s a tiny issue, just trying to be helpful. πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
hashimwarren profile image
Hashim Warren

Awesome site. It would be interesting to add news sources, CSPAN or official congressional website information via RSS feed.

Are you familiar with this source plugin? gatsbyjs.org/packages/gatsby-sourc...

Collapse
 
tylerbmcsilva profile image
Tyler McSilva

Thanks Hashim! That's a great idea and thanks for that plugin, I haven't used it yet!

I added your idea as an issue so I can look into it πŸ™‚

Add RSS feed of news sources/press releases #5

It would be interesting to add news sources, CSPAN or official congressional website information via RSS feed.

Are you familiar with this source plugin? gatsbyjs.org/packages/gatsby-sourc...

dev.to/hashimwarren/comment/hmj7

Collapse
 
ovchinnikovdev profile image
Konstantin

Looks awesome! Looking forward to try Gatsby