DEV Community

Vincenzo
Vincenzo

Posted on

Opensource Games Creator Community: call for help

Hi all, my name is Vincenzo, and I am addicted to games.
I can't stop thinking about games, playing, inventing and code games.

I am not posting in here to ask you to help me recovery from this addiction, I am here just to ask you to join me.

The main thing with games is that sometimes they are not the way I want them to be.
And so I start to think stuff like: What if I make my own version of it?

iambender

Pretty much like this ↑ guy.
The React bit is not always there, but, since most recently I have been using it at work and for loads of my side projects I find it easier to work with, as I get rusty with stuff quite soon, if I dont work with them.

What am I asking you?

The main thing about games is: they need to be pretty
And even though I am a full stack developer, I am really bad at making things pretty or user-friendly, as something that is user friendly for me is not for 90% of people in the world (I think is a common thing among developers).
That needs a specific set of skills:
a
Not only to move things around using flexbox, but also to make things look and behave the way they should.

Another thing about games is: they should be fun and work without loopholes/deadlocks
Inventing games, going off a tangent from another game rules, customising the main objective of a game, and make it playable is quite hard too, and needs opinion of other people with the same or different mindset, but with the same passion for games.

And another thing is: game should be played
well, in that I can definitely help, and a lot of other people can too...

So what I am posting here to?
Let's recap:

  1. I like games.
  2. I want to (trying to) create/code games.
  3. I'd like them to be opensource and free to play with forever.
  4. I would like to find like-minded people with the same passion to share this ideas

and together create an Opensource Game team.
To create/design/code/host and most important of all play Games.

If anyone is interested, or wants just to insult me, please let me know here with a comment.
We can then speak about it and I can show off what I mean by GAME.
(Not only CS:GO, The Witcher 3, FIFA and a bunch of FPS with an open world)

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
tmcsquared profile image
TMcSquared • Edited

Hello Vincenzo, I'm the Technologies Director for Qub³d Engine Group. Our goal is to create an open-source, fully moddable, professional quality voxel game creation suite, focusing on Minecraft-esque gameplay and functionality. We're always looking for more contributors as we've just gotten started about 7 months ago with planning the project and coding got started around 2 months ago. Now, we were coding during those 5 other months, but haphazardly and not really with a plan so much of the code that was written was scrapped.

Collapse
 
vikkio88 profile image
Vincenzo

hey there, is nice to see that there are some people with the same aim, unfortunatelly I am no good with 3d dev, and I am more of a web based game fan atm, if I could I would like to help you anyway, or if you want to adopt all my projects lol.

What tech stack are you using there?

Collapse
 
tmcsquared profile image
TMcSquared

Here's our tech stack at the moment:

  • C++ (especially C++17)
  • GCC, MSVC, Clang
  • OpenGL/Vulkan/DirectX
  • SDL2
  • Lua
  • CMake
  • Python/Django (marketplace)
  • Git (VCS)

We do need some web developers, so any way you could help us would be great!

Thread Thread
 
vikkio88 profile image
Vincenzo

I am a web developer, but I have only base knowledge of C++/Lua, small experience with Python/Django and none with OpenGL/DirectX/SDL

Thread Thread
 
tmcsquared profile image
TMcSquared

That's completely fine :) You said you liked playing games, perhaps you can help test and refine ideas?

Collapse
 
xabeng profile image
xabeng

Sound interesting. I don’t play games very much, but I’d love to see people showing their passion when talking about the game they love. I like to watch game scene, get inspiration and imagine of my own world. I’m visual artist. Looking foward to hear if you have something more to share,

Collapse
 
vikkio88 profile image
Vincenzo • Edited

Well, I do have some example on my github, one of them is this (codebase). Which is a card game, clone of another one called Earthcore: Shattered Elements, mobile card game that got shut down in march, if I remember well.

If you check my version, you can definitely notice what I mean by not having ux skills lol.
But the logic is there, and I was implementing a way to make it playable online in multiplayer via websockets

Collapse
 
xabeng profile image
xabeng

What a shame I don't understand game rule. I've never play any card game before. I guess that you want the interface for it. I enjoy it very much, the same feeling when I sit infront of blank canvas, and imagine of what story it should telling...

I can not browse in Earthcore game website. I googled and got some like this

Is that what you want to create? What could be it's story?

Thread Thread
 
vikkio88 profile image
Vincenzo • Edited

Yes, basically there are three different elements, and cards have a cost (and creatures, I am just copying cost and element).
Making the card face each other the one with the right element will win over the facing one, taking off the cost point off the life of the guy who played it.

That is just one example of a game though look at this, way easier to play with

Collapse
 
allison_seboldt profile image
Allison Seboldt

If you want to learn about design but have no intention of becoming a designer per-say, I highly suggest this book:

amazon.com/Non-Designers-Design-Bo...

She does an awesome job teaching core design principles. What you create might not be art, but it will be functional and pleasant to interact with. Essentially, it would help you create a game that is "pretty enough".

Collapse
 
vikkio88 profile image
Vincenzo

I know already that the "making it pretty" is not something I do well. It's just that I am better at other things. Like the logic behind, to implement functionality... Stuff like that. That's why I was wondering if anyone would join me into this project, of creating a small opensource organisation that creates games

Collapse
 
steveemmerich profile image
Steve Emmerich

Have you looked into any of the JS game engines like phaser? React works well for some games but for larger stuff you will want phaser or unity3d etc. I used to do freelance unity3d Dev a long time ago and still have a passion for game Dev just no time.

Collapse
 
vikkio88 profile image
Vincenzo

no I havent, thanks for the advice, I will have a look into it

Collapse
 
patsyjmoore1 profile image
Patsy J. Moore

I just intended to drop by but I ended up seeing this kind of game. Google

Collapse
 
vikkio88 profile image
Vincenzo

hello there. well we managed to put the community up, it is mainly run/composed by italian devs, but we have everything on GH in english: nientedidecente.github.io/en/.

this is an example game in haxe.

We are open to ideas though, recently by myself I am deep into a small prototype of a space exploration game github.com/vikkio88/stiddi.