DEV Community

Cover image for Getting the first dev jobโ€ฆ What now ?
Viktoria Bors-Pajuste
Viktoria Bors-Pajuste

Posted on

Getting the first dev jobโ€ฆ What now ?

I got my first job as a junior front end developer

My happiness is beyond imagination ๐Ÿ˜€

I started to learn we development a few years back totally as a hobby. It was end of 2021, when I decided to make it as a career.

I went to a bootcamp to learn about full stack development. It has 3 modules (front end, JavaScript and back end module). This bootcamp is not the typical super intensive course, it is just 5 hours per week and the rest is self study (if you want, that depends on you).

So after the front end module, I decided that I want to take this serious. I quit my lab technician job and became a โ€œstudentโ€ full time. During the JavaScript module I started to feel confident and applied for jobs. You know just casually. Just to see how an interview looks like even . Pssst it is totally different from the environmental industry interviews.

Aaandd here I am. After two module finished and 9 month later I am starting my first junior JavaScript front end developer job in October fully remote position ๐Ÿš€๐Ÿพ

So I would love to hear any advice (doโ€™s and donโ€™t) or your story about your first job! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
kaziusan profile image
Kaziu

I remember I've struggled with git command in my first job and I was afraid of it ๐Ÿ˜…
And I'm not sure detail of your job, but personally I think one of the most important thing as frontend engineer is learning core and deep knowledge of javascript. and browser structure, something like that.
then you don't care whichever library you will use it, I think so

Collapse
 
viktoriabors profile image
Viktoria Bors-Pajuste

I am already afraid of git. I have been using hit but never needed to merge branches or anything.. and there are lot of memes about merging ๐Ÿ˜…

Yeah I agree with you, the basics are important. This job needs โ€œjustโ€ the basics as I am going to learn JS framework up during work (and probably mainly during the trial period ).