DEV Community

Cover image for How open jetbrains tools like vscode in wsl 2
Ruan Vinícius
Ruan Vinícius

Posted on

How open jetbrains tools like vscode in wsl 2

First of all the reason why I'm doing it, it's because I was used to using vscode as my main IDE so the vscode has the code . alias that make the process very easy. But, working with jetbrains tools on a wsl environment it's not a natural thing, so you have to create it. So for each IDE of jetbrains that I use, I've created an alias to not be forced to open it with my windows GUI that was boring and slow.

Step 01: Identify the installation path of IDE

Most of time the JetBrains products are installed all in the same folder, so it will be pretty easy to find it. Just search for the IDE name on the Windows search bar, and go to the Open File Location option. If it not be shown to you like the image, just click with the right button on the IDE name
The Windows search bar showing the php storm app
Now just copy the path and keep it

Thw Windows file manager showing the path of the program

Step 02: Create an alias on your WSL terminal

In my case I'm using Ubuntu as my wsl system so the default alias file is .bashrc located at /home/<your_user>/.zshrc. So open it and type:

alias <nome>='/mnt/<caminho_da_ide>'
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

The disk letter should be lowercase and will look like
this:

alias storm='/mnt/e/PhpStorm\ 2023.3.2/bin/phpstorm64.exe'
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Step 03: Let's open

Now just reopen your terminal and type the alias where you want open the IDE like the vscode one storm .. In this case the . is the context of the program should be openned.
A terminal displaying the command storm and the phpstorm openned

Top comments (0)