DEV Community

Vishnu Das Puthukudi
Vishnu Das Puthukudi

Posted on

Reviewed the code of my partner for LAB 1 #OSD666

I found a project to collaborate on through the OSD600 course community(https://github.com/ijacobs-cpa/textml). The course facilitators helped match students interested in collaboration. I communicated with my project partner through Slack, where we discussed the project's requirements and divided tasks. Testing and reviewing someone else's code was a valuable experience. I learned to approach code with a critical eye and provide constructive feedback. While reviewing, I did run into some issues, such as unclear variable names and inconsistent code formatting. One surprise was finding that the code didn't handle certain edge cases well, which prompted me to suggest improvements. Having someone review my code was a valuable learning opportunity. It was enlightening to see how someone else perceives and interprets my code. I was pleasantly surprised to receive constructive feedback and suggestions for improvement. It helped me identify areas where my code could be more robust and readable.

During testing and review, several issues surfaced:
Argument Handling: The code didn't handle invalid or missing arguments gracefully. I suggested adding informative error messages for better user guidance.

I filed two issues:

  • Additional Error Messages and Improved Argument Handling
    : The code needed better error messages for invalid arguments.

  • Expand Project Description in README.md:
    The project's README needed a more detailed description to explain its purpose and use cases.
    I addressed the issues raised by my project partner and made the necessary improvements to my code. Fixing the issues involved refining argument handling, enhancing error messages, and improving overall code readability. It was a positive experience, as it allowed me to make my code more robust and user-friendly.
    Overall, it was a valuable learning experience that enhanced my coding skills and attention to detail.

Top comments (0)