DEV Community

Vlad Nedelcu
Vlad Nedelcu

Posted on

Do you feel like time is going faster ?

Lately I found myself working at my job during the day and leave my personal projects, learning and other coding stuff in the early morning or in the evening.

One thing that happened is that I feel like the amount of work that I do while learning, customizing my career plan and doing side projects is less during this lockdown period. During my early years in software development career I would finish up work much faster and find interesting ideas.

Do you feel the same ?

If you do I would like to see some opinions about this or some good reads about this phenomenon as I want to tackle this problem.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
jennrmillerdev profile image
Jen Miller • Edited

interesting, it seems time is going faster too.
When I think about it, the priorities and things I like to work on have changed for me.

Early on in my career, I was super eager. Doing tons of side projects or gigs and meeting people at coding camps (or other tech social gatherings). I have since then changed what I focus on. I don't do side gigs anymore. I used to love it, the extra cash, meeting people, interesting projects. What interested me back then doesn't interest me now.

For example, even before the pandemic hit, I stopped going to tech gatherings and hanging out with "tech-friends". I hung out my "core" friends and family instead. I stopped getting so hyped about 'new' frameworks and just considered them yet another tool to solve a problem. For me, that meant, I was no longer super eager to finish work and get home to do other things.

I do "try" to focus on the mental health aspect in my life, which can be hard. That also makes me feel I have less time for the side projects I do want to do.....which I think why I feel like time is going faster for myself

Collapse
 
vladned profile image
Vlad Nedelcu

For me in went the other way around :))
I have strated gathering gigs and hang out with intrresting people but events seems to last a 1 hour even if 2-3 hours pass by.
How did you tackle this phenomenon ?

Collapse
 
jennrmillerdev profile image
Jen Miller

to be honest, I don't think I've tackled it. Like you, I feel time goes by fast :)

I have gotten better at putting priorities on tasks I do. That's helped me at least get started on the things I want to try out. What have you tried?

Thread Thread
 
vladned profile image
Vlad Nedelcu

Probably the same thing, but what I did (and this started 1 month back) is cutting down activities I don't have interest anymore. This helped me finish stuff.

One thing is that other people started pointing out that I rush at new things and cut focus on things that I was already into.

Collapse
 
scroung720 profile image
scroung720

I felt the same until I started doing something completely new, I have c++ and backend background, then I started doing frontend it was slow again, then everything was fast again then I started studying devops, same happen nowadays I am studying UX. For me it is a way to avoid being bored but I am realizing that the more I learn the more I realize it is super easy to create a product, now I just need investment but I believe that is easier. When I was younger I tried multiple times to create teams for a startup and it was super difficult for me dealing with people. I believe I would need to study business and administration and marketing. And after I will be ready to ask for investment and start hiring people without being worry of not getting along with them. lol.