DEV Community

Cover image for What is your worst typo trigger?
Juneau Lim
Juneau Lim

Posted on

What is your worst typo trigger?

I just started to learning React and I keep type status instead of state.

// App.js with React
state = {something: 'whatever'}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

vs

$ git status
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I also had a hard time with self vs this when I was studying Python and JavaScript at the same time, as well as a.length vs len(a). I heard that people using R are experiencing a similar thing.

What is yours?

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
steven_kuipers profile image
Steven Kuipers

making a typo in for loops: arr.lenght instead of arr.length.
This tripped me over more than once. It hasn't happened in ages because of intellisense and a better editor setup but I'm still so focused on it.

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

I also used to make a similar typo.
Yes, surely editors are helpful. Never want to go back to Notepad++.

Collapse
 
wrecklass profile image
Steven Martin

I can't type an 'in' ending with adding a 'g'. I do it constantly.

  • palading
  • /usr/bing
  • loging

Too many years of it now to break the habbit. But I have found I do it less in programming than in other forms of writing. Something about the way the braing(!) is wired while coding...

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim • Edited

lol this is interesting... There might be just less -in words in coding. Thanks for sharing yours.

Collapse
 
devdrake0 profile image
Si

Their is no worse typo, in my opinion, then those using there/their/they're wrong.

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

You just made me go through reading my post again to make sure I didn't make that typo.

Collapse
 
devdrake0 profile image
Si

Haha sorry. It was supposed to be funny, because I intentionally used the wrong one in my reply 😊

Thread Thread
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

Don't worry it was funny🤣, even myself doing that was also funny.

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

In Elixir:

def my_function(:thing) {

}
Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

I also keep doing it in Python... lol

Collapse
 
ryselis profile image
Karolis Ryselis

I always type "food" instead of "good", especially when it's close to lunch break

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

After the typo your lunch must be food good. 😝

Collapse
 
kognise profile image
Kognise
cosnt foo = 'bar'

This one gets me every time.

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

lol I was even having a hard time finding what you are talking about.