DEV Community

Heiker
Heiker

Posted on

Do you use a vim-like editor?

Do you use a text editor that is like vim?

Know about any good vim alternative?

What does it do better than vim?

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
kosich profile image
Kostia Palchyk • Edited

I've started with vim and used it for a year or two, then switched to sublime with vim for some short period. And for the past couple of years I've been using VS Code with Vim plugin and Chrome/FF with Vimium addon.

Still using vim/nvim for small edits.

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

I went in the reverse path. Started with sublime text, used a vim plugin in sublime, then tried VS Code, now I'm using neovim.

Collapse
 
kosich profile image
Kostia Palchyk

Nice! That's a dream path, mine was a lazy path 🙂

Do you have your dotfiles published?

Thread Thread
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

Sure. Here is the vim folder.

Collapse
 
ruanbekker profile image
Ruan Bekker

Vim ftw!

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

I agree. But I still want to see what else is out there.

Collapse
 
jrohatiner profile image
Judith

nope. just vim - ftw! And it took a lot of work to learn it too!

Collapse
 
gracrys profile image
Gracrys

Yeah, in fact i was thinking in making an article based in my experience, i started with onivim, went to vscode and vim, and now im working with both sublime text vintage mode and vim in windows

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

Awesome, you should write it.

I'm curious, have you tried NeoVintageous plugin for sublime text?

Collapse
 
gracrys profile image
Gracrys

I think i did but had some issues, i know that i tried other vim plugin in the past, if that's the one that uses nvim, so yeah, i tried that one, kind of sluggish

Collapse
 
maxdevjs profile image
maxdevjs • Edited
Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I use Vim for virtually everything, but I do sometimes use VSCodium with one of the bigger Vim extensions. I can't remember which one, but the support is the best I've found in an IDE.

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

At one point I tried VSCode but the language server for PHP was not good on legacy codebases. I stopped using after a week I think, after I realised that without the language server I was basically using it like sublime text.