DEV Community

b0bby_seal
b0bby_seal

Posted on

Public Opinion: F*CK VSCode! Use This Instead...

So based on my current setup:

running Debian on a Chromebook tablet with unofficially supported graphical drivers;

I kept running into a situation where the other markdown editor app I was using before kept freezing the entire system GUI.

Given that is the case. I ended doing a little research and finding out that the current text editor that I once started with from my first time programming, already had the exact same feature as the markdown editor I was using for document writing.

Therefore;

I ended up simply searching, "MarkdownLivePreview" within sublime text (version 3, still using trial version; looking to purchase the full license evntaully...) and came across the very solution to my problem.

Given that the sublime text editor is a full blown text editor with many capabilities...

I have used VScode before; and frankly, due to the telementary issues and the over-hype of it,

I find that alone can make it a major target for any that may want to ship malicious code disguised as a VScode extension.

If you are someone that spends countless hours working with code or writing markdown documents; I highly recommend sublime-text as a solution;

Reason(s) being that:

  • It is made by a solo dev who knows what they are doing; given it's been around for a while and is still able to compete with a full-blown, cooperate owned alternative(s) (VScode, and many other alike..)

  • Cross-platform; Heck, this thing can even run on a ARM Chromebook that I hacked into running Debian (Duet 2 using cadmium distro) without a hustle. All other editors I tried, including VScode where too heavy for the GPU and the specs and it would just freeze.

  • Giving back and appreciating well designed software. I am unable to stress this enough: With the current age we are in where even software has become hyper-polarized & political; the best thing to do is sticking to tried and tested methods that are non-opinionated...Sublime-text is a no-bullshit editor; it does as expected by the developer without getting in your way or assuming things.

That's all.

TLDR;

F*ck VSCODE!

"I never signed up for 1984; keep your surveillance capitalism at a distance"! Support your fellow peers in the software community that are actually pushing real software with positive intent; rather than supporting the very same systems that once grew from the hands of passionate individuals that simply wanted to share their talent with the world, now being called "freeloaders" by the very entities/organizations that once praised them for their attributions & contribution to the community of opensource development.

The future of computing & opensource depends on each of you: what you support and how it impacts your surrounding enviroment and daily life.

Choose wisely.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jckodel profile image
J.C.Ködel

Basically, I have a crappy system (even with better Linux options out there) and the problem is VSCode.

I guess I'll order a tin foil hat on Amazon next week.

Collapse
 
stacy-roll profile image
Stacy Roll

I prefer nano!