DEV Community

Patrick
Patrick

Posted on

Hack23 Review

This year marks my third year participating in Hacktoberfest, and as always, it's been a rewarding experience. As a developer, I'm always looking for opportunities to expand my skillset and contribute to the open-source community. Hacktoberfest provides a great platform to do both, offering a month-long event that encourages developers to make pull requests to open-source projects.

While I enjoyed participating, I noticed a significant decrease in the overall number of participants this year compared to previous years. I'm wondering if this is a result of the lack of physical swag, which was a popular incentive in past years. It's possible that the focus on digital rewards this year didn't resonate with as many developers.

I'm curious to hear the thoughts of others on this year's event. Did you notice a similar drop in participation? What do you think of the shift to digital rewards?

Top comments (0)