DEV Community

Waqar Mohammad
Waqar Mohammad

Posted on

Code Newbies - Lets Connect

Hey guys ๐Ÿ‘‹,

Have been in this community for a few weeks now and it is ๐Ÿ˜Ž. Everyone seems so friendly and the content is amazing too. So much to learn!

Iโ€™m just wondering how many newbies / learners there are on here. It would be great to connect and grow together. Come say ๐Ÿ‘‹.

Top comments (48)

Collapse
 
veronicorn profile image
Veronica

Hey there! I'm a newb too! I'm halfway through my part-time, six-month full stack web boot camp (while working a demanding full-time job... why have I done this to myself). Glad to meet other rookies :)

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Wow, thatโ€™s some serious effort youโ€™re putting in. But Iโ€™m sure it will pay off in the end! How is your boot camp experience.

On my journey (I still have a long way to go), sometimes I ask โ€˜why am I doing thisโ€™ like you. I guess if we have others in the same boat as us, it makes it easier.

Collapse
 
veronicorn profile image
Veronica

Wellll I wish I could say that I was putting in 100% effort... but I'm a tired adult human with oh-so-many responsibilities like everyone else, so I'm afraid that my commitment level to learning code is pretty minimal right now. I'm glad that I'm doing this, but it's definitely the hardest thing I've ever put myself through!

But I'm enjoying it for the most part and I do hope it pays off in the end and helps me focus my life a bit better. We've been learning JavaScript, which is terribly fascinating and intimidating, and I still have so much information to retain! I feel like I'm constantly just looking at my old assignments and projects to even get started on anything new... Do you think that's normal, and how long till I can start just coding as soon as I sit down?? lol.

What language(s) are you learning?

Thread Thread
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

The first priority is your health, so try and balance things.

If youโ€™ve not sat on your own and written a function or object - Iโ€™d suggest you do so. Theory is good but till you sit on your own, practice, and hit a few road blocks, you will be stuck in an endless loop like I have been in the past.

Iโ€™ve touched on php and javascript but right now Iโ€™m focusing fully on JS whilst going over other fundamentals like Databases, css Grid, git etc.

Iโ€™ve started a discord for this, if you want to join, sorta like a support group for help, discussion etc

discord.gg/dCefgm

Collapse
 
legoglass profile image
Flavio

Hi there , newbie here ,coding like a yer ago sadly (for me) now i'm doing some managment stuff , but looking for a remote developer work like past year .

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

๐Ÿ‘‹ Flavio, cool. Hopefully you will find your ideal position. What langs are you doing?

Collapse
 
legoglass profile image
Flavio

use to do web services(api rest) and pages in .net and js , some mobile apps with xamarin too

Thread Thread
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

cool, ive not heard of xamarin. Sounds good thought. What are you working on now?

Thread Thread
 
legoglass profile image
Flavio

in my free times i'm learning game design and reading about programming patterns, my current job consumes lot a time and it's about management some old java and cobol programs, meetings and mails .

Thread Thread
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

wow that sounds cool. Damn, i can understand about the work and stuff. I am in the same boat somewhat. Learning whilst working, family and other stuff too.

Collapse
 
pejantantangguh profile image
Herman Ng

๐Ÿ‘‹

Present!

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Hey how are you. How is the learning going?

Collapse
 
pejantantangguh profile image
Herman Ng

Hi there,
It feels like im at the lowest point at the moment. Hahaha

But i'll keep doing it till i make it i suppose.

Thread Thread
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

I know the feeling too well. Iโ€™m sure many more do to. We just got to get through this. Thatโ€™s why I wanted to connect, we have better chance of success together.

Thread Thread
 
pejantantangguh profile image
Herman Ng

Yeah sure man.
Will love to connect with this community.

Collapse
 
edizle585 profile image
Elijah Logan

I'm a newbie, I've been coding seriously for about a year and a half. How about you?

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

๐Ÿ‘‹ Elijah,

About the same time but on and off. What Langs are you into?

Collapse
 
edizle585 profile image
Elijah Logan

HTML, css, ruby , python, Iโ€™m really trying master js though. What about you?

Thread Thread
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Same here, focus on JS a bit of php/ Laravel. Nice to meet you ๐Ÿค

Thread Thread
 
edizle585 profile image
Elijah Logan

Nice to meet you as well ๐Ÿค, what have you been working on with js?

Thread Thread
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

just through the FreeCodeCamp syllabus and some personal stuff. You? Trying to create a newbie community so we can help each other out

Collapse
 
gaini profile image
GainiZh

Hi, I am a newbie too! I am working full-time in performance marketing. Learning front-end languages in my free time, now I am focusing on JS.

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Hey nice to meet you ๐Ÿ‘‹. Cool, how are you finding JS? I am learning JS too, mainly through FreeCodeCamp. If you have time, stay in touch on the discord server discord.gg/WPKDsYq

Collapse
 
gaini profile image
GainiZh

Hi, nice to meet you too! The more I learn it, the more complicated it seems :) We'll see, how it goes. How are you finding JS so far?

Thread Thread
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

I started with PHP which was good but Iโ€™ve taken a liking to JS, so far so good I guess. Still a lot to learn though

Collapse
 
juniusfree1 profile image
juniusfree

๐Ÿ‘‹

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Hey dude, howโ€™s it going?

Collapse
 
juniusfree1 profile image
juniusfree

Hey. I'm a newbie. I'm focusing on front end dev. How about you?

Thread Thread
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Nice to meet you. Iโ€™m working on JS mainly but tons of other stuff to learn to lol. Staying focused is hard

Collapse
 
lotusgirl69 profile image
Candice

Hi,
I just stumpled on here when I while I was reading something on codepen.

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Hey Candice, itโ€™s a great community. Nice to meet you

Collapse
 
lotusgirl69 profile image
Candice

Thank you Waqar. Nice to meet you as well.

Collapse
 
jbull328 profile image
John Bull

Newb forever here.

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

hey buddy how are you

Collapse
 
jbull328 profile image
John Bull

Doing good. Love your thread and call to action. Been learning for a while, working part time as a dev and working super hard to keep learning. Love the community.

Thread Thread
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

thanks dude! great to hear, hopefully can learn a thing or two from you. If you have time, do join the discord :)

Collapse
 
somedood profile image
Basti Ortiz

Hi! We're all newbs here, my friend. That's why the learning never stops.1

1 And that's a good thing!

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

๐Ÿ‘‹ , great ๐Ÿ˜ƒ.

Thank you

Collapse
 
ffreemanjr profile image
ffreemanjr

Greetings all. This is awesome. I am a newbie who is just beginning to start with JavaScript. I hope to learn and share with everyone.

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Hey buddy nice to meet you. I am also doing javascript and have been learning for a while. Hopefully will be getting a job soon ๐Ÿคž. If you fancy, pls join the discord

Collapse
 
katiethekoder profile image
KatietheKoder

I'm new too! I've been in the bootcamp Bloc since last February! I have a BA in graphic design, so I want to get into frontend development! :)

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Hey Katie! Nice to meet you. Howโ€™s the boot camp going?

Collapse
 
katiethekoder profile image
KatietheKoder

Hello Waqar! The bootcamp is exciting but stressful!

Thread Thread
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

I can imagine, but it will be worth it in the end :). If you have time, stay in touch in the discord server discord.gg/WPKDsYq

Collapse
 
ibzaa1 profile image
Ibrahim Thanbir

Sorry for the late reply, only got dev yesterday ๐Ÿ˜…, I'm a 15 year old hoping to be a successful web developer one day and it would be great to have some by my side helping me when needed when I'm practicing

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Maybe worth to connect on a discord server too? I just started one for beginners and juniors discord.gg/WPKDsYq

Collapse
 
alyson profile image
aly quey

( ห™๊’ณโ€‹ห™ )

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Hey Julie, nice to meet you. Cool! How long have u been coding for?