DEV Community

webdeasy.de
webdeasy.de

Posted on • Updated on

Video or Blog tutorials: What do you prefer?

Hey there! 😇

It affects all of us! We are not superhumans 👽 and therefore often have to fall back on our friend Google. We are simply not omniscient.

And we watch many tutorials on the internet every day. And that's exactly why I want to know which medium you prefer: Video or Blog Tutorial?

My Opinion 🙏

I used to be a huge fan of videos. However, that has changed over time. I now see the advantage in statistics and graphics of a blog entry. And that you can choose your own speed.

What about you? 😎

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
wchr profile image
Wachira

Both can be used during different scenarios according to me. For me blogs are a way to go to grasp a deep meaning about a particular concept but for a video well it is when I want to implement a concept that i have no idea about really fast.

Collapse
 
webdeasy profile image
webdeasy.de

That's right. It's easier to visualisze a concept :)

Collapse
 
sankalp profile image
sankalp

If I'm learning some new programming language or tool I prefer their original documentation but if they aren't well explained or boring then I switch to videos(I spend a lot of time to search for quality tutorials on youtube because many famous channels provide same basic content and I don't like quality of their content) and if failed to find one I switch to website tutorials(stack overflow is the place to find right tutorial).

While working on a project, articles and blogs focused on particular topics are places I like to visit. :)

Collapse
 
webdeasy profile image
webdeasy.de

Ok, thanks! Very good mix. :)

Collapse
 
devkevyn profile image
devkevyn

If it's something new to me and has very technical, and low ux documentation I get a udemy course usually because they're well thought out. Then I consult the blogs when I need more in depth explanation until eventually I refer to the official docu when i do the project.

Collapse
 
webdeasy profile image
webdeasy.de

So, video tutorials are no option for you?

Collapse
 
zkriszti profile image
Krisztina Závecz

I might be late to the party. ;) But I definitely prefer written info, I just find it more easier to scan through to see if they are the right fit for my problem and / or knowledge level.
Also, it is way easier to scroll and skip parts if necessary than it is to fast-forward a video & stop at the right place (I usually don't want to go through things that are trivial for me, I want to get to the solution while skimming down all the non-relevant parts). Also I find it tedious to adapt my listenning "style" to the author's speaking style (even more so that I'm not a native speaker of English, and we can consider another case where the author isn't a native speaker of English. etc).

Collapse
 
webdeasy profile image
webdeasy.de

Interesting opinion! Thank you