DEV Community

Andy The Web Dev Queen
Andy The Web Dev Queen

Posted on

What it's like to be a woman developer

As a woman developer, my journey in the tech industry has been a blend of unique challenges and rewarding experiences. Despite numerous initiatives promoting gender diversity, women, especially those in backend development roles, remain underrepresented. Here’s a glimpse into my personal experience navigating this male-dominated field.

The landscape of women in tech

Before I even entered the tech world, I was already aware of the gender imbalance there. Breaking into this field was surrounded by societal stereotypes and a historical bias against women in STEM. Even my parents questioned my decision to study IT at the university when I told them for the first time. Even when I was A student in high school and there was a 99 % probability I would attend some university, they thought I would choose a different field, some "more feminine" field, such as medicine, law, or economics. They were kind of "shocked" by my choice of IT being the field of my future career. It's important to say that this was in 2014, 10 years ago.

I would like to believe our society has evolved in the last 10 years but the data claim the opposite. Over the past decade, the ratio of women in tech positions has improved from around 20% to nearly 30%. While progress has been made, significant disparities remain, especially in specialized technical roles and leadership positions.

The team dynamic

Thanks to the low ratio of women in tech, joining only male tech teams has been a common experience for me. I usually was the only woman on the team. Interestingly, I’ve found that my presence often brings a positive shift in team dynamics. I don't think it was personal since I am not special in comparison to any other woman in the world. I think that they were cheered up just by having 'some' feminine energy around them. Many of my male colleagues express genuine happiness and enthusiasm about having a woman on the team. This isn’t just about gender diversity on paper; it’s about the fresh perspectives and diverse approaches I bring to problem-solving and project management. Our team environment becomes more collaborative and inclusive, which benefits everyone involved.

Intellectual attraction

One of the more intriguing aspects of my career is the intellectual curiosity I often spark among my male colleagues. Many men in the tech industry seem genuinely interested in women who can engage in technical discussions and share their expertise. This mutual respect for knowledge and skills has led to stronger professional relationships and a deeper appreciation for diverse viewpoints within the team.

Challenges and biases

However, being a woman in tech isn’t without its challenges. I’ve faced implicit biases and stereotypes that have sometimes created obstacles in my career. There have been moments where I felt the need to prove my technical skills and knowledge repeatedly, more so than my male counterparts.

Conclusion

Being a woman developer in a male-dominated industry has its unique set of challenges and rewards. My journey has taught me the importance of resilience, support, and the power of diverse perspectives. Despite the difficulties, the impact that women like me have on tech teams and the industry as a whole is undeniable. By continuing to support and promote gender diversity in tech, we can create a more inclusive and innovative future. And personally, I think that men like working with tech-based women. As more women enter the tech workforce, our contributions not only enrich the industry but also pave the way for future generations of women developers.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira • Edited

Wow, Andy! Congrats for your post, this theme needs to be even more discussed in tech! As a woman that already worked in a Physics laboratory (also a male-dominate area), I can identify with your experiences.

Collapse
 
webdevqueen profile image
Andy The Web Dev Queen

Thank you! You're right, this theme is not discussed as much as it should be.

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

You're really brave for bringing up these points and, please, keep writing about it!