DEV Community

Andy The Web Dev Queen
Andy The Web Dev Queen

Posted on

But you don't look like a web developer

When you think of a web developer, what comes to your mind? Most people from my private life outside technology would describe such human as a man, often wearing glasses, hunched over a laptop in a dimly lit room, surrounded by empty coffee cups and energy drink cans. Maybe he’s an introvert, someone who’s more comfortable with code than with people, lacking in social skills and physical fitness. This stereotype is so ingrained in our collective consciousness that anyone who doesn’t fit this mold might be met with surprise, or even skepticism.

“But you don’t look like a web developer.”

This phrase is something I hear almost every time I introduce myself as a web developer (sometimes even in the STEM environment, but mostly in private life). You see, I am a web developer, but I don’t fit the outdated stereotype. I’m a woman, nearly 30 years old, in good shape, and I like sports. I take pride in my appearance, use make up, get my nails done, and care for myself because I want to be attractive. Yet, my abilities and passion for web development are no less than anyone else’s.

The image of the "ideal" web developer is not just a harmless stereotype; it’s a narrow definition that excludes the vast diversity within the tech community. The reality is that web developers come from all walks of life. They are men and women, young and old, extroverts and introverts, athletes and artists. Our skills and passions shouldn't be measured by our appearance or lifestyle choices, yet they still do.

In fact, diversity in web development brings about a richer and more creative environment. Different perspectives lead to innovative solutions and more user-friendly products. When we cling to outdated stereotypes, we not only limit our view but also discourage many talented individuals who might feel they don’t belong.

For me, being a web developer is about problem-solving, creativity, and continuous learning. It’s about staying curious and pushing the boundaries of what technology can do. It doesn’t require me to sacrifice my social life, neglect my physical health, or conform to an image that doesn’t represent who I am.

I want to challenge the notion of what a web developer should look like. Next time you meet someone in tech, resist the urge to judge their capabilities based on their appearance. Instead, focus on their skills, passion, and the unique perspective they bring to the table.

In a world where technology is constantly evolving, so too should our understanding of those who create it. Let’s embrace the diversity within our community and move beyond the stereotypes. After all, it’s not about how we look, but what we can build together.

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
matthewbdaly profile image
Matthew Daly

The dev team where I work has the most diverse team of developers I have ever worked with. The split between male and female developers has varied over time as people joined and left, but it's always been a close to even split. The age range is also quite diverse (from early twenties to fifties), and one of my colleagues is LGBT, as was my previous manager. It's no coincidence that it's also the best job I have ever had, and the diversity of life experience and knowledge we have in the team is extremely useful in terms of giving insights a less diverse team wouldn't have.

I personally mostly meet the stereotype you mention, except for my being a non-graduate career switcher who moved to web development after over a decade working in life insurance. Having done something else for a big chunk of my working life before, that often gives me a better insight into issues than I would have if I had spent my entire career as a developer. I work on a large legacy intranet application for a high street bank and having worked for a similar sized financial services provider in a customer service role, I have a better insight into how people might use it. And dealing with customer complaints is surprisingly good training for debugging - in both cases you're trying to find the root cause of a problem and produce an acceptable solution.

Collapse
 
jgdevelopments profile image
Julian Gaston

I have heard about this exact same issue on linkedin and personally, it's sooooooo true!!!

I can't personally relate to this specific experience but I have seen this with a couple of my peers and within the work place. I was very surprised to learn that people have a strong stereotype for developers in general. If I remember correctly, this observation is also empirical and can be reflected by the amount of women engineers in the field. I think this article deserves more attention.

Well done! This is great, thanks for shedding some light on this!!

Collapse
 
webdevqueen profile image
Andy The Web Dev Queen

Thank you for your insights!

Collapse
 
ephraimdavid22 profile image
Agbeze_Obinna

All the Developers l know are introvert and they feel very alright. But I will take you advice, we really need some change.
Nice topic ❣️

Collapse
 
webdevqueen profile image
Andy The Web Dev Queen

There is nothing wrong with being an introvert, I find myself being introverted too. I just wanted to highlight that it doesn't mean all devs are introverts 🙂

Collapse
 
ephraimdavid22 profile image
Agbeze_Obinna

I have a project am working on, but am stuck

Collapse
 
bright-njoku profile image
Bright njoku

This message deserves to be shared. Great piece!

Collapse
 
webdevqueen profile image
Andy The Web Dev Queen

Thank you!