DEV Community

Play Button Pause Button
Salma Alam-Naylor
Salma Alam-Naylor

Posted on • Updated on

I'm whitep4nth3r, and I help developers build stuff, learn things, and love what they do

I wrote my first programme on a Commodore64 at age 6. I built my first website at age 13 at the dawn of the home internet connection. I always wanted to be a software engineer.

However, during my teenage years, there were very few resources to learn from, even fewer role models to share my aspirations with, and even fewer ways to engage with people to guide me.

I was fortunate to be able to switch up my career from music teaching to software engineering in my late twenties - and I've never looked back. But I can't help wondering where I might be if I'd had opportunities, support and guidance from the tech industry when I was younger.

And because of this, I wholeheartedly believe that anyone from anywhere in the world deserves access to the resources, guidance and inspiration that I so deeply desired when I was younger.

I'm coding live, I'm building a community, and I'm offering a platform to build confidence, share ideas, and most importantly — learn.

Check out my OBS setup for live coding here.

I'd love for you to stop by one of my streams and say hey!

Build stuff, learn things, love what you do.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
huncyrus profile image
huncyrus


I wholeheartedly believe that anyone from anywhere in the world deserves access to the resources, guidance and inspiration that I so deeply desired when I was younger

I totally agree on that. Not just deserve the access. I can say that, it is so beneficial to have a great mentor in any stage of a career (or before), who really want and can/able to help.