DEV Community

Cover image for Diversity in Tech Groups in Ireland and N. Ireland Timeline since 2017

Diversity in Tech Groups in Ireland and N. Ireland Timeline since 2017

There's more updates to the list since the last post here.

Date Organisation
2020–09–24 Added Global GCS Connect: Diversity in Tech
2020–11–19 Added Women in Tech/STEM College Societies (x9) and removed GirlCrew

Here's the full list: http://www.eventgeek.ie/news-notes/2019/7/9/the-diversity-in-tech-community-in-dublin-amp-ireland-vicky-twomey-lee

🤔 I was curious about visualising it in a timeline, so I went searching for something as the timeline template in canva is not really what I wanted and there wasn't many options (they have amazing selection of templates for social media, and I'm still heavily using them).
Anyway, I digress, I found visme.co which is similar to canva but they have lots of templates for timelines, so I decided to try them out.

With my list in hand, I started adding info to a template I liked. Thank goodness I decided to keep track of groups added, removed and changed over the years!

🥳 And here's the final result! Not too shabby for a quick modification and change of colours.

project-2020-11-19_12-11_PM (3)

I'm still mind-blown 🤯 with the amount of diversity in tech groups here on the island of Ireland. It's still very much needed and we all have a lot of work to do. As long as the community work together, I hope we will make it better for all as the time goes by.

📢 Call to Action

Let me know if:-

  • List is missing an Irish/N.Irish diversity in tech group
  • There's a defunct group and needs to be removed
  • Group has changed its name

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
darrencearnaigh profile image
Darren Kearney (he/him)

Fair play to you for compiling this!

Very interesting to see the wider adoption of groups in Universities happen seemingly in the same year, rather than gradually. Almost like a wave moving from small groups to larger institutions.

Collapse
 
whykay profile image
whykay 👩🏻‍💻🐈🏳️‍🌈 (she/her)

Thanks. The folks at GalSTEM in DCU shared their socs list with me, it's not definitive, but yeah, I wouldn't have gotten that info otherwise. I would love to know everything but it's great that folks from uni, community organisers themselves are chipping in and helping me find more of these groups. And it looks like they are still needed unfortunately. It's easier to tell people there are this many groups instead of trying to remember which ones I heard of and attended off the top of my head. And people are welcome to let me know if it's missing something, or needs an edit. I'm still curious too. :-)

Collapse
 
darrencearnaigh profile image
Darren Kearney (he/him)

Perhaps you could opensource your list with some rules for contributers? That way coders who are in these groups could participate in maintaining this data.

Thread Thread
 
whykay profile image
whykay 👩🏻‍💻🐈🏳️‍🌈 (she/her)

I was thinking about that as well, to put it up on github. It's on my TODO list. It's great that you mentioned it as well. Then people can add a PR if there's changes to be made. 🤜🤛

Plus I can just embed the list instead of having to reformat everywhere I post about it! So a win for me to save some time. 😆