DEV Community

Cover image for Moved to 'main' branch for my git repo

Moved to 'main' branch for my git repo

I have been quite happy with the 11ty site I built for my Irish diversity in tech groups listings especially the Irish tech events listings I've been curating.
It all boils down to updating YAML files, much less work than before! ☺️

2 months since and apart from last month's first time changing to new month listings with tiny fixes to be made, this month's change to April went without a hitch! πŸŽ‰

And it's all on github.

Diversity in Tech in Ireland

I've been maintaining a list of Diversity in Tech groups around the island of Ireland since 2017, and I think it's about the right time to get more of the community involved (and a chance for me to try a new framework out).

This means I can crowdsource any updates to the list of diversity in tech groups in Ireland and Northern Ireland. Folks can send in PRs, to do that, they will need to update the "diversityGroups.yaml" in src/_data. If you don't want to do that, you can create an issue or drop me an email at contact@codinggrace.com

πŸ‘‰ Here's the site: https://irish-diversity-in-tech.netlify.app/

Irish hosted events

Also on my TODO list is write something to pull Irish hosted events

  • where I can curate them
  • remove duplicates
  • remove non-techie events
  • and this one is more custom for me, output HTML code that I can paste…

I know github had planned to rename master to main and the copy of the repo I had still had 'master' as the branch name.

So, I decided to rename my repos branch also, and this handy page helped with clear steps and I had no problems at all.

~/s/diversity-in-tech (master)> git branch -m master main
~/s/diversity-in-tech (main)> git branch
* main

~/s/diversity-in-tech (main)> git push -u origin main
Total 0 (delta 0), reused 0 (delta 0)
remote: 
remote: Create a pull request for 'main' on GitHub by visiting:
remote:      https://github.com/whykay/diversity-in-tech-ireland/pull/new/main
remote: 
To github.com:whykay/diversity-in-tech-ireland.git
 * [new branch]      main -> main
Branch 'main' set up to track remote branch 'main' from 'origin'.

~/s/diversity-in-tech (main)> git symbolic-ref refs/remotes/origin/HEAD refs/remotes/origin/main

~/s/diversity-in-tech (main)> git branch -a
* main
  remotes/origin/HEAD -> origin/main
  remotes/origin/main
  remotes/origin/master
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Followed his step 4 and to change default branch to β€˜main’ on GitHub site

~/s/diversity-in-tech (main)> git push origin --delete master
To github.com:whykay/diversity-in-tech-ireland.git
 - [deleted]         master

~/s/diversity-in-tech (main)> git branch -a
* main
  remotes/origin/HEAD -> origin/main
  remotes/origin/main
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And now my main branch is now called "main"! πŸ™Œ

Top comments (0)