DEV Community

Cover image for Website cookies 🍪
Wonuola
Wonuola

Posted on

Website cookies 🍪

Hi there,
My name is Wonuola; I’m a front-end developer, a podcaster, and a writer.
I want to start something here.
I want to share useful information on technologies and the internet with you.
So today, I’ll be writing about cookies.
I’m pretty sure most of us wonder what this ‘cookies’ thing is about.
Cookies are small text files collected by your computer on every website you visit. It helps keep track of your information and preferences when visiting web pages. These preferences include font size, language, preferred ad, etc.
This helps to improve the user’s experience and saves you the stress of reselecting your preferences on your next visit. It also helps the host website keep track of their traffic.
Many may not like the idea of these ‘cookies’ due to privacy reasons; that’s why there’s an option to accept or disable cookies.

We’ve come to the end of this short article.
Let me know what you think in the comments.
Also, I own a podcast named Tech with Wonuola, where I and amazing guests talk about everything in the software space.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ianbonaparte profile image
Ian Bonaparte

Cookies are definitely useful and improve user experience but it's worth mentioning that there are also cookies that are just used to improve a company's ad spend and garner more information about their visitors.

I think we're starting to see the cookie game evolve where we are starting to see more sites opt out of specific cookies, or types of cookies. Instead of just having a basic "Accept" or "Deny" all cookies, I have seen "Accept all cookies important to the user experience" which lets you opt in to the font size, language, cart, wishlist etc but opt out of the more invasive cookies.