DEV Community

Cover image for How to create a Power Platform Keyboard
david wyatt
david wyatt

Posted on

How to create a Power Platform Keyboard

After seeing the Stack overflow keyboard, I really wanted a Power Platform version, with each button launching the relevant website. But as there was none available so I decided to make my own.

All I needed was:

  • A macro keyboard
  • Custom Keycaps

I went for this keyboard from Amazon Ecarke-Keyboard, because it didn't need software installed on the laptop (my work laptop wont let me install any). It's a very simple, cheap (especially the config software) keyboard, but does what I need.

Image description

Next was the custom keycaps, this was harder than i thought, as the only reparable ones were £12 each. So in the end I took a gamble and went for some off Aliexpress at £2.54 each. The quality isn't the best, but it's good enough.

I got the images from the official Microsoft site here, and converted them to png using tinywow.

On the keyboard I configured each site to a unique combination of keys.

Image description

And then used this trick to create shortcut icons to each Power Platform site.

  • You drag the bookmarks from web browser to desktop
  • Then add relevant combination of keys as shortcut keys

Image description

And that's it, all done.

Image description

I don't currently use Power Pages, so I also had a Power Platform icon printed, which I have mapped to the admin center.

Image description

Image description


There are definitely better keyboards and keys, but for a total of £40.16/$48.45 (Keyboard £22.99, keys £17.17) I think it's a good result.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

Should you also get a new key and config to run custom power automate as admin flows ( one ring to rule them all )