DEV Community

Xauvkub Alex Yang
Xauvkub Alex Yang

Posted on

My Coding Journey Begins

We are just finishing the first phase in our coding bootcamp and I am already feeling the pressure. In high school, I started learning basic JavaScript for the first time and loved solving the problems. When I went to college, I decided on a Computer Science major just because that was something I already had experience in.

As the courses got harder, I started doubting whether I was meant to code or not. I failed my classes and headed back home to wait tables for my parents again. I was just waiting for a sign that something or someone was just meant to be.

Not until recently, I realized I wanted more. My best future wasn’t just going to come to me. I decided I want more responsibility. I want to finish what I start. I want to find purpose. That’s why I’ve taken time from helping the family restaurant to start FlatIron School.

I am really excited to grow as a person and become disciplined though my work. I plan to be a role model for my community and give back to them. I want to develop skills that can help me give and show that it’s possible to achieve your goals. I want to be confident in myself and become the person my family and friends have always seen in me as. I am determined to become a different person in the end.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jthnjsf profile image
Jathin Emmanuel Joseph

This experience that you have shared is such an honest display of your drive to go on.

I finished my bachelors degree in genetic engineering. I have always felt that I wanted to work in a more rapid environment where the effects of my work are more rapidly implemented in society.

I started my journey into tech last week after I quit my job in a cancer lab. Definitely didn’t think it through.😅

However, I am finding it amazing that I found this community and resources which give me renewed strength and hope.

All the best! Hope that our journeys gives each other strength and support!

Collapse
 
xauvk profile image
Xauvkub Alex Yang

Thank you so much Jathin! It's nice to hear people from all sorts of backgrounds in the community. Your story sound's very interesting. I don't have much experience in that, but I am encouraged that we're not the only one starting our journeys. :)