DEV Community

Cover image for A lazy developer is a good developer, 10 windows shortcuts you should know
Yaser Adel Mehraban
Yaser Adel Mehraban

Posted on • Originally published at yashints.dev

A lazy developer is a good developer, 10 windows shortcuts you should know

I saw a quote some day on Twitter:

As a developer I don't feel bad about being lazy. If I can make a computer to repeat something for me, why should I do it myself?

When I saw this, I thought about things that are on my day to day work, and are done in that way just because being lazy is not a bad thing in my opinion too.

That's why I want to share with you some of the short keys on Windows 10, which helps me do stuff way faster that normal. So here we go 😎:

1: Ctrl+Backspace

This trivial combination will help you delete a word at a time instead of a character compared to when you just hit backspace. I love this as it boost my speed in fixing my writings faster 😁.

2: Win+Number

If you keep icons on your taskbar like me and order them by their importance, this is for you. By pressing Win key and a number, it's like clicking that icon on the taskbar and opening the program behind it.

For example, I have VS Code as first icon, so I just press win+1.

3: Ctrl+Shift+V

Often times, when you have some text with formatting somewhere and you need to send it in an email or use it a different application, you copy the text and paste it.

However, most of the times the text comes with its formatting. If you don't want the formatting and care about the text only instead of Ctrl+V use Ctrl+Shift+V and voila, you have the pure text without any formatting. This one works mostly in browsers, but there are some apps that support it too.

4: Ctrl+Shift+T

I've been bitten many times when cleaning my open tabs on a browser by closing the most important tab which I needed it the most.

Trying different approaches like typing in address bar in hope of finding it in the history or other ways has been unsuccessful many times, until I came across this combination.

This one opens up your last closed tab in most major browsers (Chrome, Firefox, Edge).

5: Win+P

When you want to project to another screen instead of trying to find the related key specific to your laptop brand just use this combination. Fast and furiously project without hustle πŸ™ƒ.

6: Win+X

This shortcut will bring up the quick link menu which for me are the most important list of windows tools. From power options to disk and computer management, event viewer, task manager and many more. Try it out, this one is awesome.

7: Win+,

If you want to quickly have a look at your desktop without minimising the applications then use this combo, if you really want to minimise everything, use win+m.

Also if you want to minimise everything at once, use Win+D.

8: Win+(+/-)

If you're presenting and want to zoom in on a specific area of the screen using magnifier, use win++, for zooming out use win+-.

9: Win+.

This is by far the most important shortcut you need to know 😁πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯. I just used it to add these emojis. And yes you guessed it right, this will bring up the emoji list and you can continue typing to find the one you need.

10: Ctrl+C

You may now see this and think WTH, everyone knows this one. However, I am not talking about copying anything into clipboard here. How many times you faced an error and you couldn't copy the error text because it wasn't selectable?

Well use our favourite Win+C when you see an error message and the whole message will get copied to clipboard which you can then send to related party to investigate or just simply google it to see how it can be fixed.

Summary

I truly believe if you can find a way to speed up your development process, you should do it. Learning shortcuts in your operating system or your editor, automating your repetitive tasks even at home, saving code snippets which you use most of the times and bind keys to them, these are all different ways of boosting your productivity.

Hope these shortcuts help you work more efficiently like me πŸ˜‰, and till next post, adiΓ³s.

From comments

Many amazing people already have added more amazing shortcuts into comments. I thought bringing them here in one place so it would be more accessible for readers:

Win+PrtScr πŸ‘‰πŸΌ Win+Shift+S (windows 10 only)

This combination takes a screenshot of your screen. Beware that if you have multiple monitors, it will capture all of them. So you might want to use another tool like snipping tool to capture just part of an area.

CTRL(CMD)+L

In most major browsers and not just windows, this combination jumps to your address bar in browser so you can start typing right away.

Win+L

This is really handy if you want to step away from your computer. This will lock your screen immediately. You don't want everyone to receive an invitation for a team lunch on you after all πŸ˜‰ (this was our hobby for many years, and still is).

Win+(β¬…βž‘β¬†β¬‡)

This combination is useful for arranging windows and moving them around the screen.

Ctrl+D

When typing in text editors, pressing this combinations selects the word ahead. Jakob mentioned it's for deleting, but I've tried in multiple editors and it just selects the entire word ahead of the cursor. Of course you can delete it from there by pressing delete or backspace.

Thanks to all who took time and commented on the post. I will update more here if more awesome shortcuts were suggested πŸ™πŸΌ.

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
jsheridanwells profile image
Jeremy Wells

All sorts of magic hidden in that Win key. I will make good use of that taskbar trick. I can also add Win + arrow keys can be really useful for quick window arrangements like getting a window out of the way or splitting two windows evenly across the monitor.

Collapse
 
midyro profile image
midyro

Win+Shift+S for taking screenshot

Collapse
 
allanjeremy profile image
Allan N Jeremy

Neat! Win+PrtScr also takes a screenshot

Collapse
 
t4rzsan profile image
Jakob Christensen

Good job. Ctrl+Shift+V was new to me πŸ‘

BTW, Ctrl+Del deletes the word ahead of the cursor.

Collapse
 
yashints profile image
Yaser Adel Mehraban

Thanks

Collapse
 
allanjeremy profile image
Allan N Jeremy

Awesome stuff

Win . Was definitely my favorite too. Eureka moment. Hadno idea you could do that

Ps. Win+D also takes you to desktop (same as Win + M - which btw I just learnt about, thanks to you 😁)

Collapse
 
siddm22 profile image
Siddhant Misra

Win + E to open up explorer.
Three fingers on the touchpad. Swipe and experiment.
There are so many more. They are tough to keep track of. But, once you know most of them, life becomes so much easier.

Collapse
 
seangwright profile image
Sean G. Wright

Win+. is amazing. I'm done copying and pasting emojis from other sites now!

I also didn't know how the magnifier worked but I've seen it used many times in talks and on youtube videos.

Thanks!

Collapse
 
yashints profile image
Yaser Adel Mehraban

Your welcome

Collapse
 
juliani profile image
Julian Iaquinandi

Number 7 can be achieved by pressing WIN+D to minimise everything and then WIN+D again to bring it back. I remember it as D = Desktop πŸ‘

Collapse
 
orimdominic profile image
Orim Dominic Adah • Edited

Thanks! Is there any way I can open the terminal (cmd) or poweshell of any directory I'm in using a shortcut? Is there any shortcut for that?

Collapse
 
yashints profile image
Yaser Adel Mehraban

In any directory just click in the address bar and type cmd, then press enter πŸ‘πŸ½

Collapse
 
orimdominic profile image
Orim Dominic Adah

Yayy! Thanks!!

Collapse
 
nikkifurls profile image
Nicole Furlan

Here's a big list of Windows keyboard shortcuts if anyone is interested! 😊

Collapse
 
dukemagus profile image
Duke

number 7 needs some fixing

Collapse
 
yashints profile image
Yaser Adel Mehraban

That is just for peeking your desktop without minimising. I've updated the post with an extension from comments πŸ‘πŸΌ

Collapse
 
kvnloughead profile image
Kevin Loughead

Thanks for the list. I don't think anyone mentioned using F2 to rename files. Its a handy thing to know!

Collapse
 
bionboy profile image
Luke Floden

If you want to get really crazy add Vimium to firefox/chrome

Collapse
 
vjnvisakh profile image
Visakh Vijayan

The emoji thing was cool! Gonna use it from now on.

Collapse
 
utkarsh profile image
Utkarsh Talwar

Yo nice one! I literally didn't know half of these. Loved the emoji one. I've always wanted a quick way to type those. Thanks!

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Pretty sure this is not Windows-specific, but I find cmd + L to be soo useful in a web browser. It will jump you to the address bar.

Collapse
 
gn4rk profile image
GN4RK

Just press F6 and it will do the same thing (with only one finger !!)