DEV Community

Bret
Bret

Posted on

Best Frontend & Backend

What is recommended for a great Stack that is maintained fairly “easy?”, is a CMS good?
What is recommended for a “Admin”?

Top comments (21)

Collapse
 
tqbit profile image
tq-bit

Can you please elaborate:

  • Who will maintain? A dev or an admin?
  • What purpose do you follow with the software? A webapp? A blog?
  • Are you looking for a stack? Or maybe a software architecture?
Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

I’ve been using React mainly, but started with Vue, Vue has allot more “extras” that are personal to it, so it kinda messes me up. I’ve focused on Django at times and python, but Py kinda seems more demand of DS or ML, Django seems great as a backend, but I haven’t seen allot of want for it.

I don’t like stying that much, because it can be anything.... what’s a good “connect” type of role? I’m getting the hang of JS, but I prefer Py. I recently used a CMS and I like how it’s integrated

Collapse
 
tqbit profile image
tq-bit

Okay, then it you're after something modern, I'd give the MEVN stack or MERN stack a try. Both are using Javascript as backbone, differ only in the frontend framework they use.

  • (M) MongoDb as database
  • (E)Express.js as backend framework
  • (V/R) React / Vue respectively for the user interface
  • (N) Node.js as the runtime environment
Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Thank you, i haven’t used express yet, would a CMS be close to it?

Thread Thread
 
tqbit profile image
tq-bit • Edited

Not quite, a cms is a whole piece of software while express is like a toolkit. You could however use express and e.g. mongoose (a mongodb driver) to build your own one.

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Ok, but when would you need Mongobd instead of sqlite? I’m liking APIs now

Thread Thread
 
tqbit profile image
tq-bit

You could possibly substitute them with one another, depending on what you prefer or require for your project.
In a nutshell, Sqlite stores data in predefined tables, whereas mongodb goes with collections ( json-like structure ). The second option is comparably messy as you create your structure on the go, but it's easier to scale and you won't need to write SQL queries to do data operations.

Collapse
 
giorgosk profile image
Giorgos Kontopoulos 👀

It really depends on what languages or tools you are already familiar with and what you are trying to accomplish.

A CMS (content management system) is ideal for situations where you have lots of content and users posting or modifying. If you are building an app perhaps a CMS is not the best choice but going for something more hard core usually means slower outcome and or maintenance.

I say be more specific to your needs(what are you trying to build) and people will give you suggestions which you can try and make up your own mind.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

I’m leaning towards the client, I’m learning Apollo GraphQL now and I like it. I’m wanting to focus on MERN or MERNG

Collapse
 
kais_blog profile image
Kai

What are you / your team experienced with? I think this should be the deciding factor. Apps written in Python, Ruby, TypeScript, ... all of these can be maintained fairly "easy", if you know what you are doing.

Which stack to choose depends on your project requirements. Try to keep it as simple as possible for now. And, remember to use the right tool for the job. You probably won't find the ONE and ONLY ultimate stack for every project in the future.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Well, I’m not with a team, just me. I’m familiar with React, Vue, Django, Python.

Collapse
 
dabjazz profile image
Yash_Jaiswal

Don't fall into Analysis paralysis. Take a look at the current market and go with what's trending.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

I’ve been using React mainly, but started with Vue, Vue has allot more “extras” that are personal to it, so it kinda messes me up. I’ve focused on Django at times and python, but Py kinda seems more demand of DS or ML, Django seems great as a backend, but I haven’t seen allot of want for it.

Collapse
 
dabjazz profile image
Yash_Jaiswal

Vue can be great if you want to learn things quickly. React needs time. Django is overall fit. You can go with that. Especially the community for python is very responsive and the Docs for django are very easy to understand

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

I like django, but I don’t like Jinja templates. Tho, a CMS to me is more of a “flow”, with creating/adding functioning parts.

Thread Thread
 
dabjazz profile image
Yash_Jaiswal

Yeah, I agree jinja templating can be a drag, I learnt flask and Jinja templating plays a big part in that, but that just a small functionality, you can explore way past that

Collapse
 
peter_shenoda profile image
peter shenoda

you can try strapi ( strapi.io ) it's a headless CMS and with something like svelte you can make really great things

Collapse
 
_bkern profile image
Barry

What languages do you know? It really depends on so much more - if you elaborate further I am happy to offer further thoughts.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

I’m familiar with React, Vue and Django. Then kiiiiiiinda JavaScript, but it’s tough because people will “explain” things, but not truly use them in a project, but I’m getting the hang of JS.

Collapse
 
mecoupz profile image
Yasin

As the question is just too general, I would say „it depends“. Maybe you should try to change the question to be more precise.

Collapse
 
ivan_jrmc profile image
Ivan Jeremic

BaaS