DEV Community

Bret
Bret

Posted on

MACBOOK PRO 16in, should I wait untill Apple event? Or BUY NOW?

I’ve been using JavaScript, Vue, React, python. On my Mac mini that’s 16Ram and 256ssd.

Should I get the 16in MacBook Pro now? Or should I wait?

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
jamesthomson profile image
James Thomson

Put it this way, if you buy now you'll be paying a premium for an older model. If you wait for the event (and the rumours are true - I don't know what they currently are as I haven't been following, but based off previous years they at least bump up the specs a bit), you'll get the latest and greatest for roughly the same price.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

The current 16in is $300 off at bestbuy

Collapse
 
jamesthomson profile image
James Thomson

That's pretty good, but likely indicates Apple's going to be doing something at their event regarding it... all speculation of course. Personally I'd wait for the event and see what happens, that old model will likely still be discounted.

Sounds like they may even be changing chips again, so that could be something to consider.

Late 2020: Apple is working on Arm-based Macs that use its own Apple Silicon chips, and while we don't yet know what the first Arm-based Mac will be, Apple has said that the first machine equipped with Apple Silicon will be released before the end of the year.

Also in that same article,

New 16-inch MacBook Pro: Apple refreshed the 13-inch MacBook Pro in May, adding scissor switch keyboards and a new 32GB maximum RAM option, but there are also rumors that a new 16-inch MacBook Pro will be released in 2020, and it could feature a mini-LED display. It's not clear if the ongoing health crisis will affect Apple's plans, however, and the rumored mini-LED MacBook Pro could be delayed until 2021.

Source: macrumors.com/guide/apple-event/

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

What’s mini led? Could Apple have a bigger touchbar area? BUT, without a premium extra cost??

Thread Thread
 
jamesthomson profile image
James Thomson

It's a new type of display: macrumors.com/guide/mini-led/

Collapse
 
juanicolas profile image
JuaNicolas

For that stack your mini is more than enough, I use the 2014 version, 8 ram 1tera hdd and it's quite good handling: iOs and Android simulator on parerell (Nativescript) + 2/3 Angular protects running at once. I cannot use YouTube...cause the ram is at 100%, byt it's perfect for the rest. Do I want more? Sure, but I cannot afford it. Hope it helps you !

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

My MacBook Pro SSD kinda get hot on 8GB Ram.

I want to be more mobile at times.

Is the 16in MacBook better with its 2 fans?

Collapse
 
juanicolas profile image
JuaNicolas

Didn't you have a mini? And yes, 2 fans should be better, but what's the problem with hot, If it doesn't underperform?
With mobile I guess you meant be able to move around with it, so I definitely would buy a laptop, I really appreciate the mini, cause I prefer having more than one monitor

Thread Thread
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Ok, I have 16Ram and I’m at 7-10r used. I’m using Logitech software and also Razer software that’s running, then VSC and my browser

Collapse
 
pengeszikra profile image
Peter Vivo

I use MacBook Pro 13 2019 with 8Mb RAM and 256 GB SSD, this machine great improvement compare my desktop. I love the touch bar and portable size. Iterm2 is great for JS / python development, and seems 8gb RAM is enough.

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

My Mac mini has some extra software running for my mouse and keyboard, I’m at 7-10 ram used. So that’s Logitech/Razer/VSC and Safari running.

My MacBook Pro that’s 8ram, it works, but it gets hot when I’m using vue

Collapse
 
yobretyo profile image
Bret

Do you know if the 4 port 13in MacBook has 1 fan or 2, or if it gets hot like the 2 port?