DEV Community

a.infosecflavour
a.infosecflavour

Posted on

Unbreakable 2024: Easy-hide

Hey you,
Do you want to dive into the world of forensics? Easy-hide challenge from Unbreakable 2024 is a good way to start. 🫢
The contest is over at this moment and the flag cannot be submitted. However, learning does not depend on the flag submission.πŸ˜‰

Task

Given that the task is telling us that there is something hidden inside, my first thought was to ease my research using Aperi'solve.
I downloaded the file and uploaded in the mentioned resource.

πŸ‘‡This drew my attention
binwalk

I downloaded the files and discovered a new image. Do you think that the flag is visible? Well, not yet. The image is broken. I edited the signature using HexEdit. It was easy to find the magic bytes, since the extension (.jpg) is a great tip. πŸ€“ A list of file signatures can be found here.

After the edit, I saved the file and What a beautiful day, indeed!😹
flag

Top comments (0)