DEV Community

Yuan-Hsi Lee
Yuan-Hsi Lee

Posted on

Release 0.4 - Planning

Release 0.4 is the last release in this course, in this release, I'm supposed to do something bigger, something more challenging than the previous releases.

What is a bigger challenge for me?

In release 0.2, I had my first couple PRs to real world projects. I chose a field that I have never touched, browser extensions. I even learned some new languages and tools and did find an issue for beginner and solve it.

In release 0.3, I learned more react knowledge and had my first attempt at Twitter API.

However, what should I do for a bigger challenge than the previous ones?

Learning a new language or starting a new field seems to be overwhelming to me, I can't be expertise in 2 weeks, and it's hard to find a practical issue in that field for a beginner like me. Therefore, I decided to solve the issues that I couldn't solve. In release 0.3, my PRs are both merged. However, in release 0.2, there are 1 PR got closed because I couldn't find a solution to make the requested changes, and 1 PR that is still open and wait for my changes. At that time, I didn't think I can resolve those requests. To be honestly, I don't think I can make it.

However, this should be the bigger challenge that I should take in this very last release.

My PRs both worked, but I wasn't able to make the request changes. There were 2 reasons, the unprofessional code and the lack of research/experience. What I need is to use a different method to resolve the issue. I did find the solution, but it's not qualified or not good enough. I just need to find a better and more professional solution. Since I found the solution once, I should be able to find a better one again.

Top comments (0)