DEV Community

Djilou
Djilou

Posted on

[DISCUSSION] What is your perfect work environment ?

Comment below your must have factors for a perfect work environment

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

The right balance between isolation and connection.

I want to be on my own, but able to contact others if I need to (or if they need me) in a way that doesn't interrupt anyone's flow.

That translates to working from home (or having my own office), keeping my own hours whenever possible and having good tools for conferencing/screen-sharing.

A good music/entertainment system.

Anything from decent headphones and a collection of music to a TV or dedicated monitor for backgrounding something comfortable that doesn't require too much brainpower, like episodes of things I've watched loads of times before (Columbo and the 70's version of The Incredible Hulk are currently my jam).

Well-stocked kitchen

I don't want to run out of coffee or be thinking about where I could go to get lunch.

In fact, my ideal working environments would be the bunker from Lost, the compound from Archive 81 or perhaps the Overlook Hotel from The Shining.

Collapse
 
zabdeldjallil profile image
Djilou

Very interesting i might copy some of it :D

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

These are almost exactly my requirements too... interesting! But this bunker I found ain't big enough for both of us...

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Fight me for it!

Collapse
 
kochiyama profile image
Marcelo Haruo Kochiyama

My ideal work environment:

  • Work at home
  • Hot drink on left
  • Smartphone docked on right
  • A good headphone with lo-fi or hype music
  • Lights off and monitor backlight on
  • Mic and camera for daily meetings
  • Confortable chair
  • Team connected on discord

Concisely: Coffee + Dark + Music

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

Home where i can be left alone with no disturbance and distraction.

even my friends says i spend more time on my computer that having fun,but they don't know am building my future.

Collapse
 
zabdeldjallil profile image
Djilou

Wish you the best of luck building your future !

Collapse
 
nceedee profile image
N Cee Dee

thanks man,same to you

Collapse
 
willypuzzle profile image
Domenico Rizzo

A place with respect-based relationships

Collapse
 
zabdeldjallil profile image
Djilou

Amen.

Collapse
 
jeremymonatte profile image
Mbenga

Probably the ability of switching between working from home and at the office.
A good sound system at home, a good headphone at the office. And a lot of coffee

Collapse
 
dovey21 profile image
Somtochukwu Nnaji

Home with some good music on it helps me concentrate. I know someone can relate.