DEV Community

Cover image for How it Really felt to Switch from C++ to Python
Zag
Zag

Posted on

How it Really felt to Switch from C++ to Python

There are a ton of stuff and memes that portray what a python developer feels when he switches from Python to C++ but what we want to talk about today is how it really felt as a C++ programmer to switch to Python.

What I Expected

I heard and read many people say that Python after learning C++ was very easy. At least for them, but that was not the case for me. Learning Python seemingly proved almost difficult as C++, or a little less.

What I Got

The first thing in Python that I was, and I'm still very confused about, is no presence of parenthesis, like how in the world are you going to know where does the loop or some specific block start from and where does it end? A little bit of offense but I don't know how this makes one language easy.

Next thing that comes is that there are no access specifiers **like **there are in C++, I mean, what? I had to go and ask my fellow ChatGPT and was very shocked when I came to know this.

Conclusion

Now this is not a criticism on Python, but it is just me expressing that switching from C++ to Python felt very weird. And I believe that anyone or most of the C++ fellows might have experienced this.
Now I know and agree that Python surely has its advantages. I save a lot of time by solving problems in Python instead of writing them in C++. Python GUIs, frameworks and tutorials are also more in quantity as compared to C++. Making some apps or games in Python is much easier compared to C++ because you just need to import _**Something**_.
With that said, I am done. Bye 🐍

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
taikedz profile image
Tai Kedzierski

There are so many idiosyncracies in every language.

Frankly I felt groovy was broken until it clicked.

Bash has gotchas up the wazoo (you think python is nuts with significant whitespace? How about a = b being diffirent from a=b, with a= b being a syntax error??)

Rust is a test of patience. (So much "fighting" the borrow checker)

JavaScript is a test of endurance. (See the fun yet pointed "Destroy All Software: Wat" talk)

The more a language is similar-but-different, the more we are inclined to retch on it.

But keep with it. Learn new languages' "idiomatic" ways. Enlightenment is achievable! And it gives you new techniques for your preferred ones.

Collapse
 
mebble profile image
Neil Syiemlieh

Nobody really knows groovy and bash

Collapse
 
taikedz profile image
Tai Kedzierski

Ouch! πŸ™ƒ

Collapse
 
zag495 profile image
Zag

Well , python is like my 2nd language and I haven't learnt other languages .
Surely those other languages have something much--much to make me regret >︿<

Collapse
 
zag495 profile image
Zag

If you found it relatable or something like that than πŸ˜‡.