DEV Community

Cover image for Build a Web Game: Alien Invaders Game
Zibras Ismail
Zibras Ismail

Posted on

Build a Web Game: Alien Invaders Game

This is a submission for the Web Game Challenge, Build a Game: Alien Edition

What I Built

I built a web-based game called "Alien Invaders". The game involves controlling a spaceship to shoot down incoming alien enemies. The player can move the spaceship using arrow keys or the mouse and shoot using the spacebar or mouse click. The game features multiple levels, power-ups, and a boss enemy.

How I Approached the Project

I started by setting up the basic HTML structure and styling using CSS. Then, I used JavaScript to create the game logic, including player movement, shooting mechanics, enemy spawning, collision detection, and scoring. I also added a pause/play functionality and power-ups to enhance the gameplay experience. The game loop is managed using requestAnimationFrame for smooth animations.

Demo

You can play the game here. The source code is available on GitHub.

Image description

Journey

Building "Alien Invaders" was a fun and educational experience. I learned a lot about HTML5 canvas, JavaScript game development, and handling user input. I am particularly proud of implementing the pause/play functionality and the power-up system. Next, I hope to add more enemy types, improve the graphics, and implement a high score system.

I have added an MIT license to my code to encourage others to use and contribute to it.

Top comments (0)