DEV Community

Cover image for How do I keep my digital life safe? (And you should too)
16bit Paladin
16bit Paladin

Posted on

How do I keep my digital life safe? (And you should too)

In an increasingly digital world, securing your online presence is more important than ever. Our digital lives contain everything from personal memories to financial information, and a breach could have severe consequences. Over the years, I’ve developed a robust system to keep my digital life secure. In this post, I'll share the key strategies I use, and I'd love to hear your thoughts and suggestions on how I can further enhance my security.

1. Password and Key Management with KeePass

Managing numerous passwords and security keys can be overwhelming, but with the right tools, it becomes manageable. I rely on KeePass to securely store and manage my passwords across various devices. On my Mac, I use KeePassXC, a cross-platform community fork of KeePass that’s user-friendly and offers robust security features.

To ensure that my password database is always up-to-date across all devices, I use Syncthing, a continuous file synchronization program. Syncthing allows me to sync my KeePass database across all my devices securely and without relying on third-party cloud services. This means I have control over my data at all times, reducing the risk of exposure.

2. Enhancing Database Security with a YubiKey

A strong password is essential, but I take my security a step further by protecting my KeePass database with both a password and a YubiKey. The YubiKey adds an additional layer of security by requiring physical confirmation of the decryption process. Even if someone were to acquire my KeePass database file, they would still need my YubiKey to access it.

This combination of something I know (my password) and something I have (the YubiKey) ensures that my database is secured by two factors, making unauthorized access highly unlikely.

3. Two-Factor Authentication (2FA)

Wherever possible, I use Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) to secure my online accounts. 2FA adds a critical layer of security by requiring a second form of verification, typically something like a time-based one-time password (TOTP) or a hardware token, in addition to my password.

Crucially, I do not store my 2FA keys in the same database as my passwords. I prefer to use a separate service for this purpose. This separation ensures that even if one layer of security is compromised, the other remains intact, making it much harder for an attacker to gain full access to my accounts.

4. Using ED25519 Keys for SSH and Git

When it comes to connecting to servers or signing git commits, I use ED25519 keys. ED25519 is a public-key signature system that is faster and considered more secure compared to older algorithms like RSA. I store these keys securely in my KeePass database, and I utilize an SSH agent to manage them.

To streamline the process, I automatically push my ED25519 keys to the SSH agent through an SSH agent socket file. This setup allows me to maintain a high level of security while still having convenient access to my keys whenever I need them.

5. Maintaining Privacy with Disposable Emails

Privacy is another critical component of my digital security strategy. To protect my identity and reduce spam, I frequently use disposable email services. These services allow me to create temporary or one-time-use email addresses, which I can then use to sign up for websites or services without revealing my primary email address.

Some of the tools I use include Apple’s Hide My Email feature and the simple trick of adding a plus sign (+) to the end of my email identifier. For example, if my email is john.doe@example.com, I might use john.doe+service@example.com to sign up for a new service. This not only helps me manage and filter my emails but also allows me to identify which services might be sharing or leaking my information.

6. General Security Suggestions

A. Regular Software Updates

Always keep your software, operating systems, and apps up-to-date. Software updates often include security patches that address vulnerabilities discovered by developers or security researchers. By staying updated, you reduce the risk of exploitation by cybercriminals.

B. Use a Virtual Private Network (VPN)

A VPN encrypts your internet connection, making it more difficult for hackers or malicious actors to intercept your data. This is especially important when using public Wi-Fi networks, which are typically less secure.

C. Enable Full-Disk Encryption

If you’re not already using full-disk encryption on your devices, consider enabling it. This ensures that even if your device is lost or stolen, the data stored on it is encrypted and inaccessible without the correct decryption key.

D. Regular Backups

Regularly back up your important data to an external hard drive or a secure cloud storage service. This protects you against data loss due to hardware failures, accidental deletion, or ransomware attacks.

E. Secure Your Home Network

Ensure your home network is secure by changing the default router password, using WPA3 encryption, and regularly updating your router’s firmware. Additionally, consider setting up a guest network for visitors to limit access to your primary network.

F. Review App Permissions

Regularly review the permissions granted to apps on your devices. Revoke any permissions that seem unnecessary or overly intrusive. This reduces the risk of apps accessing your data or functions (like your microphone or camera) without your knowledge.

G. Use Anti-Malware Software

Install and regularly update anti-malware software to protect against viruses, spyware, and other malicious software. This adds an extra layer of defense against potential threats that may slip through other security measures.

H. Implement a Password Policy

Consider using a password policy that includes longer passphrases, regular password changes, and avoidance of password reuse across multiple sites. This policy reduces the likelihood of a successful brute force attack and limits the damage of a potential breach.

I. Monitor Your Accounts and Credit

Regularly monitor your financial accounts, email accounts, and credit reports for any unusual activity. Early detection of unauthorized activity can help you mitigate damage quickly.

Conclusion: Your Tips and Suggestions

These are some of the key strategies I use to keep my digital life secure. However, cybersecurity is an ever-evolving field, and there are always new threats and solutions on the horizon. I’m constantly looking to improve my setup and would love to hear your thoughts.

What practices do you follow to secure your digital life? Do you have any tips or tools that could further enhance the strategies I’m using? Feel free to share your ideas in the comments below—let's help each other stay safe in this digital age!

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
_hero profile image
Tom Ludwig

Sounds like another chatGPT article 🤦‍♂️. Especially the Anti-Malware part…

Collapse
 
16bitpaladin profile image
16bit Paladin

Hi Tom, thanks for your comment!
Yes, I do use LLMs to enhance my writing and boost productivity. After all, that's exactly what tools like this are for, right? 😊

Collapse
 
samurai71 profile image
Mark Landeryou

Great information!
I am curious about the email part if you a disposable email how would you sign commits in github

Collapse
 
16bitpaladin profile image
16bit Paladin

Normally I use disposable or temp email addresses just for registering (for sake of privacy! like if I want to test a new service, or if a shop wants to have my email address and I'm not sure about giving them my real email address).
But for git commits some services provide temp email for signing the commits, as an example Github has this feature (called noreply email address) that can match a non-realistic email address to your email address, and then you will commit with that email address

Collapse
 
martinbaun profile image
Martin Baun

Practical tips, well organized, great for beginners, well done! :)