DEV Community

Adam Crockett πŸŒ€
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Posted on • Updated on

🌟 Review my open source repository 🌟

I am trying to build a community and gain contributors for the open source project:

didi.land

Stabilizing this repository has been tricky for a mind maker upper, there are lots of moving parts, but I have tried to run this repository with projects, issues and pull requests.

The readme needs a little work, I'm also missing guidelines to contribute.

beginners tag has been added to this post to see what more junior developers thoughts are on if they would contribute based on the issues.

The one thing I really want to get out of this post is if nothing else, does everyone understand what didi is and when you might want to use it, and would you contribute based on the state of the repo.

To be totally transparent, I am dyslexic which I worry might put people off due to my English literature prowess 😬.

All feedback and constructive criticism welcome, stars also help!

Thank you and stay safe.

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Yay, you went with didi in the end. I like the logo, man!

Keep the good work, If I have some time I might check out the repo and try to help with the readme if I can :)

I would recommend using Grammarly or some similar tool to help you with your grammar and dyslexia.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Manolo, I'd be very greatful! This is my first community driven project it just needs a community πŸ˜…. I will checkout gramerly, I have heard good things about it.

Yeah I've gone full didi and I think that's really motivated me to create a great repository and product. I'm throwing the kitchen sink at it.

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Cool, I'll be joining the community, and help with anything I can. I already started by updating the readme a bit :)

I'm already a big fan of Didi the little dinosaur xD

Thread Thread
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³

Collapse
 
kvanrooyen profile image
Keagan Van Rooyen

Second using Grammarly. I use it all the time, just gives me confidence that my English is all good.

Collapse
 
socheatsok78 profile image
Socheat Sok

Look very promising. I like the logo by the way πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Thank you Socheat, I really appreciate it, the entire brand will hopefully tie into deno and Frontend alike 🀞, I'm hoping for an alpha release within the next fortnight.

Collapse
 
socheatsok78 profile image
Socheat Sok

Looking forward to it 😊.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€ • Edited

πŸ“ˆ Analytics based on my calculator, at the time of writing, this one minute read at a ratio of 786 views to 11 stars gives didi a conversation rate of GitHub stars of 1.4%. With a maximum potential interest of 16, I'd better keep working hard.

Thank you for staring ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ the repository, that's genuinely helping!

Collapse
 
094459 profile image
Ricardo Sueiras

Is it ok to share this on my weekly open source newsletter? One of the things I try and do is raise awareness of projects looking to get more contributors.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Hi Ricardo, yes absolutely! May I join your newsletter?

Collapse
 
094459 profile image
Ricardo Sueiras

Sure - I do not email it, I just share it via Twitter/LinkedIn. Here is a link to the consolidated list so far -> dev.to/aws/aws-open-source-news-an...

I will mention your project and link to this post, so fingers crossed there is some interest.

Thread Thread
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Thank you, even one contributor is a massive win. Have a lovely day.

Collapse
 
rahuldkjain profile image
Rahul Jain

That is so cool

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett πŸŒ€

Thank you Rahul, I hope didi will be ready for demonstration and release soon.